LibGuides: Highlights of Selected Databases: Westlaw Edge

Contact the Library

Contact the Library

Email a member of the reference staff at referencelaw@nccu.edu.

Students can submit help requests here.

Faculty and staff can submit help requests here.

About Westlaw Advantage

About Westlaw Advantage

The Law Library provides access to Westlaw Advantage. Access requires an individual username and password -- the Registration Key will be provided during Law School Orientation. If you have trouble accessing the database, reaching out to our reference staff at referencelaw@nccu.edu.

Westlaw Precision
Premier research platform that provide access to over 40,000 legal databases, including federal and state case law, statutes, administrative regulations, as well as a robust library of secondary sources and practice aids. Access is available only to NCCU law students, faculty, and staff. Username and password required.

Primary Sources in Westlaw Advantage

Selected Westlaw Advantage Primary Resources

North Carolina Attorney General opinions
Contains opinion letters released by the Attorney General of North Carolina. Coverage begins in 1977.
North Carolina Federal District Court cases
Covers reported and unreported case law from the federal district courts in North Carolina from 1868 to present.
North Carolina Statutes & Court Rules
Includes current versions of NC statutes, Constitution, and court rules.
U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Contains documents from the U.S. Supreme Court. A document is a case (a decision or order) decided by the court from 1790 to present.
United States Code Annotated (USCA)
Contains all 54 titles and includes the Constitution, court rules and appendixes. Annotated materials include notes of decisions, cross references, research references, and more.

Secondary Resources in Westlaw Advantage

Selected Westlaw Advantage Secondary Resources

American Jurisprudence 2d
An A to Z text statement of American Law, both state and federal. Covers all fields of American law, including state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law.
Corpus Juris Secundum
Covers state and federal legal topics from A to Z, with general rules of law summarized in blackletter law headings and expanded upon in the text.
American Jurisprudence Trials
Contains articles authored by practicing attorneys and covers all areas of litigation, providing trial-tested litigation tools to secure better settlements and verdicts.
American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts
Authored by attorneys and experts, provides the essential facts and how to prove them in a variety of civil litigation and criminal defense actions.
Strong's North Carolina Index
Contains an analytical treatment of law established in North Carolina courts and federal courts applying North Carolina law, and law enacted by the North Carolina legislature.
Georgia Jurisprudence
Current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Georgia law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Georgia courts and by acts of the legislature.
South Carolina Jurisprudence
Current and comprehensive encyclopedia of South Carolina law, containing an analytical treatment of all the law established by South Carolina courts and by acts of the legislature.

Visitors, please read the Law Library's Visitors Policy for updated visitor's requirements.

If research assistance is needed, please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

Highlights of Selected Databases: Westlaw Edge

Contact the Library

About Westlaw Advantage

Primary Sources in Westlaw Advantage

Secondary Resources in Westlaw Advantage