Visitors

Visitors are permitted to use the library Monday-Friday from 9am-5pm. Appointments are required when reference assistance is needed. If research assistance is needed, please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

All visitors must check in at the security desk at the front entrance of the law school and the Library Service Desk upon arrival.

Visitors are defined as library patrons who are not currently NCCU students, staff, or faculty. Alumni are classified as visitors.

Contacting the Law Library

• Access Services
  Email: lawlibrary@nccu.edu
  Phone: 919-530-5189
   
• Reference
  Email: referencelaw@nccu.edu
  Text: 919-648-0247
   
• Online options
  If you do not need to come into the library in person, but still have a question for a library staff member, the following options are available:
   
  • Chat with a librarian: The Law Library’s chat service is available during the library’s hours. Research assistance is available from 8am-5pm, Monday-Friday. Click on the blue “Live Chat” button at the top right of the Law Library’s webpage. From there, enter your name and ask your question.
     

• Ask A Librarian: You can reach out to library staff at any time using the “Ask A Librarian” link to the right in the main menu bar on the library’s webpage. Fill out the form that opens and a staff member will get back to you during library business hours (8am-5pm, M-F).

The Law Library provides access to the library space without an appointment. This includes:

• Access library spaces to study

• Use of the library’s collections without the need for research help

Scheduling a Research Visit

• Fill out the Law Library’s Visitor Appointment Form and let us know what kind of assistance you need.
   
• It may take Law Library staff up to 24 business hours from when you submit your form to confirm your appointment.
  
  The Law Library’s email is checked regularly 8am-5pm, Monday through Friday, excluding university recognized holidays and breaks. Please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.
  
  

**PLEASE NOTE THAT LIBRARY STAFF MAY NOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE,
such as providing help filling out legal forms.**

The Law Library provides reference services including:

• Assisting patrons in locating information and identifying resources
• Developing search strategies for catalogs, databases, the web, and indexes to assist patrons in finding needed information
• Providing assistance in legal research methodology
• Quick research suggestions and answers via text/email.
   

Reference Librarians cannot:

• The reference staff cannot provide substantive advice on a legal problems, interpret legal materials for you, explain how the law applies to your particular case, or assist you in filling out legal forms.
  
  If you need assistance with any of these issues, please reach out to the Law School Pro Bono Clinics at 919-530-7166 to see if a lawyer can assist you, or take a look at our Legal Resources for the Public webpage.

Additional Information for Visitors

• Study Rooms are available for current NCCU Law students only. The rest of the seating in the library is available for anyone to use.
   
• The Law Library has several public access computers. These computers are available on a first come, first served basis for use accessing the online catalog and University and Law School databases. Patrons should refrain from performing extensive projects on these computers. Please speak with a library staff member at the service desk for assistance logging in.
   
• NC Central University provides limited visitor WiFi access for use with mobile devices and laptops. Please visit the university’s guest access page for more information in how to log in.
   
• The Law Library does not have printers for visitors to use, however, there are 2 scanners available that will send a scan to email.
   
• All visitors must adhere to the Law Library's Conduct Policy.
   
• Parking information is available here.
  • University Parking
  • NCCU Campus Map