Highlights of Selected Databases

About ProQuest

The Law Library provides access to ProQuest. Please note that ProQuest is a subscription database and off-campus access requires a login with NCCU username and password.

ProQuest Congressional

Provides federal congressional publications and information of particular importance to legislative history research.

Publications available in this database include:

• Bills, hearings, and committee reports
• The Congressional Record
• The U.S. Statutes at Large, the U.S. Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register
• Compiled legislative histories and Congressional Research Reports
• Campaign contribution and financial information
• Voting record information
• Congressional news sources. 

Collections in ProQuest Congressional

Selected ProQuest Congressional Topics

Legislative Insight

Federal legislative history service that makes available researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Law.

Includes only documents related to the passage of a law, including hearings, reports, and other documents that are not part of a legislative history are NOT included in this database.

Supreme Court Insight

Contains the complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases.

Documents available in this database include:

• Decisions
• Dockets
• Oral arguments
• Joint appendices
• Amicus briefs

>

Collections in ProQuest Supreme Court Insight

History Vault

Contains archival materials such as letters, photographs, and journals. These materials are presented in a searchable format. Collections contained in the History Vault include the NAACP Papers and Slavery and the Law.

Researching Different Topics in the History Vault Collection

Researching Social Movements with Primary Sources

Describes strategies for locating primary sources that pertain to different social movements, such as the Labor Movement and Black Freedom Struggle, in History Vault.

Researching Women in the Civil Rights Movement

Discusses how the NAACP Papers are rich sources of information, paying special attention to how the papers can offer unique insight into women's involvement in and contribution to the NAACP as well as to local struggles for civil rights.

ProQuest History Vault 20th Century Social Movements Overview

Covers primary source collections that focus on the the Civil Rights Movement, Women's Right Movement, Anti-Vietnam War Movement, the American labor movement, highlighting how these movements connected to one another. It pays special attention to notable tools History Vault offers, such as the timeline and suggested searches.