LibGuides: Highlights of Selected Databases: HeinOnline

About HeinOnline

About HeinOnline

The Law Library provides access to HeinOnline. Please note that HeinOnline is a subscription database and off-campus access requires a login with NCCU username and password.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides full-text, PDF files of a variety of legal resources. Its 70+ sub-databases include a comprehensive law review and journal library; U.S. and international government materials such as the U.S.C., C.F.R., Papers of the Presidents, U.S. Reports, and world constitutions; and resources organized by topics such as gun regulation, civil rights, intellectual property law, and indigenous American law.

Users can search across all databases at once, browse databases by categories like Case Law or International Resources, or select a specific database by name, like LGBTQ+ Rights or Military Legal Resources.

ABA Law Library Collection
Digital collection of all current and historical periodicals from the American Bar Association that cover all areas of American law. Includes 44 titles previously only available to ABA section members.

Journals include: Civil Rights Litigation, Environmental Law Reported, NC Law Review, Social Justice and Equity Law Journal, and more.

Using Scholar Check

Using Scholarcheck

HeinOnline’s ScholarCheck is a series of tools and features integrated throughout HeinOnline to help researchers quickly locate related material throughout the interface. Below are some of its features:

Analyzes the most-cited journals, articles, and authors
Enables users to view and access articles and cases cited by other articles and cases, and to see how many times an article has been accessed by other HeinOnline users within a rolling 12-month period
Provides inline hyperlinking so users can quickly access related material across HeinOnline and Fastcase content
Allows users to sort search results by most-cited and most-accessed content
Calculates metrics for ranking scholarly authors and displays these metrics in Author Profile Pages

From both search results and from within HeinOnline and Fastcase documents, easily link to lists of articles and cases that cite the current article.

Users may also view how many times the article has been accessed by other HeinOnline users within a rolling 12-month period. This helps the user retrieve the most accurate and relevant search results, as well as to see what's trending in legal research. Within documents, citations and websites will appear as blue highlighted hyperlinks.

Learn more about ScholarCheck with this PDF guide.

Civil Rights and Social Justice Collection

The Civil Rights and Social Justice Collection

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice collection brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. It contains scholarly articles, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, and more to explore the way that civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time.

Civil Rights and Social Justice Guide from HeinOnline
Find out more about the HeinOnline Civil Rights and Social Justice Collection.

Selected Online Resources from HeinOnline's Civil Rights and Social Justice Collection

Selected eBooks from HeinOnline's Civil Rights and Social Justice Collection

Chocolate City by Chris Myers Asch; George Derek Musgrove
ISBN: 9781469654720

Publication Date: 2019

Tells the tumultuous story of race and democracy in our nation's capital. Asch and Musgrove offer an engaging narrative peppered with unforgettable characters, a history of deep racial division but also one of hope, resilience, and interracial cooperation.
A Different Shade of Justice by Stephanie Hinnershitz
ISBN: 9781469661506

Publication Date: 2020

In the Jim Crow South, Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, and, later, Vietnamese and Indian Americans faced obstacles similar to those experienced by African Americans in their fight for civil and human rights. From the formation of Chinese and Japanese communities in the early twentieth century through Indian hotel owners' battles against business discrimination in the 1980s and '90s, Stephanie Hinnershitz shows how Asian Americans organized carefully constructed legal battles that often traveled to the state and federal supreme courts.
Lethal State by Seth Kotch
ISBN: 9781469649870

Publication Date: 2019

Recounts the history of the death penalty in North Carolina from its colonial origins to the present. He tracks the attempts to reform and sanitize the administration of death in a state as dedicated to its image as it was to rigid racial hierarchies.
Seeing Race in Modern America by Matthew Pratt Guterl
ISBN: 9781469626512

Publication Date: 2015

Focuses on how and why we come to see race in very particular ways. Drawing creatively from advertisements, YouTube videos, and everything in between, Guterl redirects our understanding of racial sight away from the dominant categories of color -- away from brown and yellow and black and white -- and instead insists that we confront the visual practices that make those same categories seem so irrefutably important.

Slavery in America and the World

Slavery in America and the World

HeinOnline's Slavery in America and the World collection brings together, for the first time, all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law Guide
Explore the HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law Collection.

Selected eBooks from HeinOnline's Slavery in America and the World Collection

Abolitionists Remember by Julie Roy Jeffrey
ISBN: 9780807858851

Publication Date: 2008

Illuminates a second, little-noted antislavery struggle as abolitionists in the postwar period attempted to counter the nation's growing inclination to forget why the war was fought, what slavery was really like, and why the abolitionist cause was so important.
Border War by Stanley Harrold
ISBN: 9780807834312

Publication Date: 2010

During the 1840s and 1850s, a dangerous ferment afflicted the North-South border region, pitting the slave states of Maryland, Virginia, Kentucky, and Missouri against the free states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois. This work explores the border struggle itself, the dramatic incidents that comprised it, and its role in the complex dynamics leading to the Civil War.
The Grimké Sisters from South Carolina by Gerda Lerner
ISBN: 9780807855669

Publication Date: 2004

This biography of Sarah and Angelina Grimké explores the lives and ideas of the only southern women to become antislavery agents in the North and pioneers for women's rights.
North Carolina Slave Narratives by William L. Andrews (Editor)
ISBN: 9780807876756

Publication Date: 2006

The autobiographies of former enslaved folks contributed powerfully to the abolitionist movement in the United States, fanning national indignation against the evils of slavery. The four texts gathered here are all from enslaved North Carolinians and are among the most memorable and influential enslaved narratives published in the nineteenth century.