LibGuides: Highlights of Selected Databases: West Academic Study Aids

About West Academic

About West Academic

The Law Library provides access to West Academic study aids. Please note that West Academic is a subscription database and off-campus access requires a login with NCCU username and password.

West Academic Study Aids
Online access to more than 500 study aids including case briefs, outlines, overviews and exam prep titles.

Nutshell Series

Nutshell Series

The Nutshell Series provides understandable, dependable introductions to a field of law or legal topic.

Nutshell Series

Selected Nutshell Titles for 1Ls

Advanced Torts in a Nutshell by Peter Kutner
ISBN: 9781642427790

Publication Date: 2020

A concise and authoritative text on major areas of tort law typically included in Advanced Torts courses and casebooks. Includes defamation, invasion of privacy torts, malicious prosecution, wrongful death, and more.
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell by Mary Kay Kane
ISBN: 9781683281115

Publication Date: 2018

Provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include how to choose the proper court, pretrial and trial preparation, adjudication, judgments, appeals, and specialized multi-party/multi-claim proceedings.
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by Jerome Barron; C. Dienes
ISBN: 9781684673285

Publication Date: 2020

Summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. Presents the essence of the Court's decisions in a concise, readable and understandable way.
Contracts in a Nutshell by Michael P. Malloy; Claude D. Rohwer; Anthony M. Skrocki
ISBN: 9781634599146

Publication Date: 2016

Provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. Contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code.

Short and Happy Guides

Short and Happy Guides Series

Short and Happy Guides explain legal principles, practices, and policies in an accessible language.

Short and Happy Guides

Selected Short and Happy Guides Titles for 1Ls

A Short and Happy Guide to Advanced Legal Research by Ann Long
ISBN: 9781640207486

Publication Date: 2020

Identifies available free and fee-based legal research options as good, cheap and/or fast. An overview of the litigation analytics and artificial intelligence features available from Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, and Westlaw Edge is also included.
A Short and Happy Guide to Civil Procedure by Richard Freer
ISBN: 9781684672288

Publication Date: 2019

Demystifies Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context, showing what each doctrine is doing and how each doctrine relates to the others.
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Law by Joseph Kennedy
ISBN: 9781647084219

Publication Date: 2020

This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Highlights key concepts from criminal law and offers tools for remembering them, such as the use of funny examples that will stick to your memory.
A Short and Happy Guide to Legal Writing by Deborah Borman
ISBN: 9781634599184

Publication Date: 2019

Takes you through the history, meaning, and purpose of legal writing in the American law. You will learn the essential form and substance necessary to craft an inter-office legal memo, helpful ideas for persuasive brief-writing, and tips for excelling in legal writing.

Gilbert Law Summaries

Gilbert Law Summaries Series

Gilbert Law Summaries provide a detailed outline of the law with a capsule summary, sample questions, and answers.

Gilbert Law Summaries

Selected Gilbert Law Summaries Titles for 1Ls

Gilbert Law Summary on Legal Ethics by Thomas D. Morgan
ISBN: 9781634607094

Publication Date: 2017

Subjects covered include regulating admission to practice and preventing unauthorized practice of law. Also discusses the contract between client and lawyer, including lawyer's duties regarding accepting employment, spheres of authority of lawyer and client, obligation of client to lawyer, attorney-client privilege, and more.
Gilbert Law Summary on Legal Research, Writing and Analysis by Peter Honigsberg; Edith Ho
ISBN: 9781642426724

Publication Date: 2019

Covers court systems, precedent, case reporting system (including regional and state reporters, headnotes and the West Key Number System®, citations, and case finding), statutes, constitutions, and legislative history, secondary sources (including treatises, law reviews, digests, and restatements), and more.
Gilbert Law Summary on Property by James Krier
ISBN: 9780314286062

Publication Date: 2013

Covers possession (including wild animals, bailments, and adverse possession), gifts and sales of personal property, freehold possessory estates, and more.
Gilbert Law Summary on Torts by W. Jonathan Cardi; Marc A. Franklin; Michael D. Green
ISBN: 9781634602747

Publication Date: 2017

Subjects discussed include, but are not limited to: intentional torts, negligence, strict liability, products liability, nuisance, survival of tort actions, wrongful death, and immunity.