LibGuides: Highlights of Selected Databases: Lexis+

Lexis+

The Law Library provides access to the Lexis+ database. Lexis+ is a subscription database. Access requires an individual username and password.

This guide provides resources for you to explore the Lexis+ database. Use the link below to access the database.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ and Lexis.com are premier research platforms that provide access to multiple legal databases, including federal and state case law, statutes, administrative regulations, as well as a robust library of secondary sources and practice aids. Access is available only to NCCU law students, faculty, and staff. Username and password required.

Use the search links below to find Lexis+ primary resources in the library catalog.

Below is a selected list of Lexis+ primary resources.

NC - General Statutes of North Carolina Annotated
"The General Statutes of North Carolina Annotated file (NCCD) contains the statutory code from the General Statutes of North Carolina. The General Statutes of North Carolina includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the North Carolina Legislature. Indexes mentioned in the Prefatory Materials Preface and User's Guide are not included in the online source. Note: North Carolina Statutes archives are available from 1991."--LexisNexis description.
NC - North Carolina Constitution.
"The NC - North Carolina Constitution [NCCNST] file contains the Constitution of the State of North Carolina from the General Statutes of North Carolina."--LexisNexis description.
U.S. Supreme Court Cases
USCS - Constitution of the United States
USCS - Federal Rules Annotated

Use the search links below to find Lexis+ secondary resources in the library catalog.

Below is a selected list of Lexis+ secondary resources..

American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR)
"[A]n encyclopedic text of both procedural and substantive American law, state, federal, criminal, civil and procedural. Consisting of over 430 topic headings (titles), Am Jur 2d articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques."--LexisNexis description.
Ballentine's Law Dictionary
"Ballentine's Law Dictionary contains over 40,000 definitions of legal terms."--LexisNexis description.
Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia
"Long a cornerstone reference in Virginia and West Virginia law libraries, Michie's Jurisprudence offers encyclopedic treatment of the civil and criminal law of both states. It analyzes the case law, statutes, rules, and regulations of Virginia and West Virginia ...."--LexisNexis description.
Tennessee Jurisprudence
"Tennessee Jurisprudence offers encyclopedic treatment of the civil and criminal law of Tennessee. It analyzes the state's case law, statutes, rules, and regulations, and offers extensive references to other publications to save you valuable research time."--LexisNexis description.