Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
×
Due to COVID-19, visitors hoping to use the Law Library must have an appointment.
When studying in groups, wearing a mask is the number one way to prevent and reduce infection.

Highlights of Selected Databases

Aspen Learning Library

The Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library study aids database. Please note that Aspen Learning Library is a subscription database and off-campus access requires a login with NCCU username and password.

Aspen Learning Library Study Aids Collections

The Aspen Learning Library Study Aids database provides access to study guides and study tools use explanatory text and multiple questions to review course content. Check out the Library's Study Aids page to find out more detailed information about the Aspen Learning Library Study Aids database.

This guide provides resources for you to start to explore the Aspen Learning Library Study Aids database. Provided in tabs of this guide are selected lists of titles in the Aspen Learning Library Study Aids collections including:

  • Emanuel CrunchTime ;
  • Emanuel Law Outlines ;
  • Examples and Explanations ;
  • Glannon Guides ; and
  • Bar Exam Prep.

Use the links below to access the database and to find Aspen Learning Library resources in the library catalog.

Watch the video below which demonstrates how you can log in and use the online library tools to prepare for your next class or exam.

"When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel CrunchTime® is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.

Here's why you will need CrunchTime to help you ace your exams:

  • Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam.
  • Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam but throughout the semester
  • Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns."--Publisher's description

"An [Emanuel Law Outline] (ELO) ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:

  • ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams.
  • They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook but is explained in a way that is understandable.
  • The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester.
  • Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams.
  • The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline—perfect for exam review!"--Publisher's description.

"[T]he Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Here’s why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester:

  • Clear explanations of each class topic in a conversational, funny style.
  • Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding and again at exam time to help you review.
  • It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks and suits any class on a given topic."--Publisher's description.

"The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:

  • It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
  • Both correct and incorrect options are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.
  • Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick."--Publisher's description.

"Bar Review materials from Aspen Publishing provide the essential information students and instructors need to prepare for Bar Exam success. Our bar review materials offer up-to-date NCBE and author-written questions, as well as class-tested tips and strategies to help students learn to analyze questions, apply rules to fact patterns, avoid wrong answers, and structure essay responses. The Emanuel Bar Review Series is full of advice on how to analyze questions, how to handle each MBE subject, and tips about how differences in wording can completely change the meaning of an answer."--Publisher's description.

Use the search link below to find Aspen Learning Library exam preparation resources in the library catalog.