Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Supreme Court Seminar (Dawson)

Supreme Court Electronic Resources Overview

There are a variety of electronic resources with information on the Supreme Court.  For a complete alphabetical listing of all NCCU Law Library's electronic databases, please see our site.  This guide will focus on some of the more commonly used sites, including:

* These databases can only be accessed with a user name and password. 

Lexis

 

LexisNexis has a variety of Supreme Court specific sources.  After logging in at lawschool.lexisnexis.com, research can begin immediately using Lexis Advance's "Search All" feature of their Search Bar.  Users may use the "Narrow by" function on the left side of the screen to limit searches to particular databases.  To search for Supreme Court cases:


1.  Under "Jurisdiction," select "Federal." 

2.  Under "Top Sources," select "U.S. Supreme Court Cases, Lawyers' Edition." 


This process can also be used to locate other Supreme Court sources such as U.S. Supreme Court Briefs and secondary sources. 

Westlaw

Westlaw has a variety of Supreme Court specific databases.  After logging in at lawschool.thomsonreuters.com, select "Access Westlaw Edge."  To search Supreme Court cases:

1.  Under the "All Content" tab, select "Cases."

2.  Under "Federal Cases by Court," select "U.S. Supreme Court." 

3.  Searches can then be performed in Westlaw Edge's Search Bar, or users may click "advanced" to search specific fields (judge, party name, dates, etc.). 

Users can follow these basic guidelines to locate a variety of Supreme Court material under the "All Content" tab, including dockets and briefs

HeinOnline

Though known primarily for their extensive law journal collection, HeinOnline also has several databases dedicated to the Supreme Court.  

1.  History of Supreme Court Nominations - features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. The "Browse by Justice" option allows users to see relevant works related to that Justice.

2.  U.S. Supreme Court Library - has complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.

  • United States Reports Preliminary Prints
  • United States Reports Slip Opinions
  • U.S. Reports
  • Also has links to several books and periodicals about the Supreme Court

 

Supreme Court Blogs and News Sites

1. Official Site of the Supreme Court of the United States (www.supremecourt.gov)

2.  SCOTUS Blog (www.scotusblog.com)

  • Provides comprehensive coverage of the United States Supreme Court
  • Breaking News
  • Statistics
  • Petitions Bloomberg feels are of particular importance
  • Videos

3. Bloomberg/BNA The United States Law Week (bloomberglaw.com)

  • Provides summaries of recent cases
  • Opinions
  • Oral arguments
  • A "Hot Topics" section with articles detailing recently decided and upcoming cases

4. Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent College of Law (www.oyez.org)