Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
×
Due to COVID-19, visitors hoping to use the Law Library must have an appointment.
When studying in groups, wearing a mask is the number one way to prevent and reduce infection.

Technology: Tips, Tricks, and Resources

About MyHein

MyHein has evolved from its inception in 2008 as a bookmarking device to its present-day functionality as a multi-dimensional research tool relied upon by thousands of HeinOnline users. Throughout the years we have enhanced this tool time and time again to make your research experience a breeze. Let’s take a quick look at the various features this tool offers.

  1. BOOKMARK DOCUMENTS

    Users can bookmark documents from a results page, or from within a document to one or multiple organizational tags. Journal articles can be exported from within MyHein to CSV, RefWorks, EndNote, and more.

  2. SAVE SEARCH QUERIES

    Save your search query to return to the results page at any time. These will be listed in chronological order, and as an added bonus we will notify you via email if any new content that is added each month to HeinOnline matches your query.

  3. MANAGE SEARCH HISTORY

    After logging into your MyHein, any search in a database or across multiple databases will appear in the Search History tab. Users can email their results or move it over to a saved search query. An option to disable search history is also available.

  4.  SET UP ELECTRONIC TABLE OF CONTENTS (ETOC)

    Electronic table of contents (eTOC) alerts are a great way to manage your online collections and ensure you will never miss a new issue of your selected title(s). Users are notified each month via email if any new content is added to their saved titles.

  5. FAVORITE DATABASES

    Users can mark databases as favorites to push them to the top of their HeinOnline welcome page using their MyHein account. Your favorites list can be adjusted at any time by deselecting or selecting new databases.

  6. MANAGE AUTHOR ALERTS

    With HeinOnline’s author profile pages, users can set up email alerts for particular authors. This MyHein feature helps users keep track of these author alerts. If the email address used to create your MyHein account and the address used to sign up for author alerts match, all of the alerts will appear in a new Author Alerts tab, organized by author. Alerts that have been signed up for previously under that email address will also appear.

  7. EDIT AUTHOR PROFILES

    Authors who have enhanced their author profile page to include their email addresses have the ability to edit their own author profile information through MyHein. University and college librarians may also request to become administrators so that they can edit their school’s faculty author profiles from this portal.

  8. MANAGE SMARTCILP PROFILES

    Subscribers of Current Index to Legal Periodicals can edit their SmartCILP profiles directly from their MyHein. Users affiliated with an institution may also request to become administrators so that they can manage their faculty or staff’s SmartCILP notifications.

How to Set Up a MyHein Account

Access HeinOnline through the Library Database page, here

Note that you will need to login using your school credentials. 

Once you have accessed the HeinOnline homepage from the school database list, click on MyHein Profile in the top right.

 

Click the option to Create an Account, taking note of the login button, which you will use to login after you have successfully created your account. You will be redirected to a page that looks like this: 

Register using your school email address, and be sure to select the appropriate User Type.