Resources for First-Year Law Students

Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving.

Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students.

An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why, like a great teacher, helps law students understand civil procedure clearly and deeply. Procedural rules and doctrines that at first seem incomprehensible finally make sense when students understand what the rules are trying to do, how they are used in practice, and how they fit into the bigger picture. Unlike oversimplified outlines or lengthy treatises, it actually teaches with clear explanations and features designed to help students master the material. By the end of each chapter, students will have a clear understanding of not only how the rules and doctrines work, but also how the pieces of the puzzle fit together. Overviews set up each topic FAQs give straight answers to questions and clear up common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars offer insights, study tips, and practice pointers. Step-by-step analyses demonstrate how to apply the material. Chapter summaries provide quick review guides. Connections helps students fit the material with other topics in civil procedure.
Unlike oversimplified outlines or lengthy treatises, it actually teaches with clear explanations and features designed to help students master the material. By the end of each chapter, students will have a clear understanding of not only how the rules and doctrines work, but also how the pieces of the puzzle fit together.

Of all the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students’ experience. This book will demystify Civil Procedure. It will explain the doctrine and make it easy to remember. It includes numerous tips for civil procedure exams (as well as regarding law school exams generally). Before you know it, you’ll be part of the hip crowd – the Civ Pro crowd.

This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. The 2015 Q & A: Civil Procedure, Fourth Edition also includes a comprehensive topical index.

This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Civil Procedure lectures, Adam Zimmerman gives and Introduction to Civil Procedure and explains Appeal, Offensive Collateral, and Motion for Summary Judgement. Kelly McCracken covers Comparative Jurisdiction, Joinder, and Personal Jurisdiction. Kendall Jones covers Disclosure and Discovery, Erie, and Pleadings.

This audio lecture covers subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, long arm statutes, and constitutional limitations. It also discusses in rem and quasi in rem jurisdiction, service of process, venue, transfer, forum non conviens, removal, waiver, governing law, pleadings, and joinder of claims. Also included are permissive and compulsory joinder of parties, counterclaims and cross-claims, ancillary jurisdiction, impleader, class actions, discovery, pretrial adjudication, summary judgment trial, post trial motions, appeals, res judicata, and collateral estoppel. The lecture references all the newly restyled Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio Set on Civil Procedure, 8th presents the essentials of civil procedure in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. Includes quick reference indexing, allowing you to quickly locate all topics in the recording, and informed exam tips to help maximize your performance. Sections discuss: clusters of procedure, citizenship, traditional basis of jurisdiction, constitutional principles, illustrative application, federal court jurisdiction, service of process, venue principles, pleading, sanctions, joinder, counterclaims, class actions, discovery, summary judgment, trial, jury trial, posttrial motions, new trial motions, motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, collateral estoppel, and appeals.