Resources for First-Year Law Students

Property: Examples & Explanations, Fifth Edition, is a study aid that offers clear textual introductions to legal terms and concepts in property law, followed by examples and explanations that test and apply the reader's understanding of the material covered. Both authors have years of experience presenting material in a clear and compelling way. With its rich pedagogy that features boldfaced legal terms and visual aids, Property: Examples & Explanations fills a niche distinct from other books. The six-part topical organization matches the coverage of most first-year property courses and follows the organization of the best-selling casebook by Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander & Schill. Accomplished authors Barlow Burke and Joseph Snoe assure that the rules and doctrines making up the first year course on the law of property are well covered. Features: Clear and readable text Rich pedagogy includes boldfaced legal terms and visual aids, such as charts and diagrams, especially for common-law estates--a topic that lends itself to diagrammatic presentation Coverage of fundamental and widely taught rules and doctrines Expanded coverage of Fixtures Reinforcement of terminology in Estates in Land and in Future Interests Uses illustrative examples in the overview of Future Interests and of Rule Against Perpetuities Expanded discussion and explanation of trusts Added material on key new Supreme Court cases, including Arkansas Game & Fish Commission v. United States and Marvin M. Brandt Revocable Trust v. United States. Expanded coverage on the Stop the Beach Renourishment Comments on conceptual severance cases

With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. The graphic design supports your visual learning, and features such as bolded key terms, summaries, and Connections help reinforce your understanding while giving you ample opportunity for self-review. Surprisingly concise, visually compelling, the Inside Series is extremely useful throughout the semester to help you identify the essential components of the law and how they fit together. Comprehensive coverage of the essential topics emphasizes what you need to know and why. Clear, straightforward, informal writing explains every topic for you without over-simplifying the concepts. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you why each matters and how it fits into the larger framework of the law. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars enrich the text with fascinating detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. Bolded key terms, Connections and summaries reinforce your understanding and give you ample opportunity for self-review. The overall graphical design of the series supports your visual learning.

Mastering Property Law is a precise, practical guide to the fundamental rules of law underlying the basic property law course. Useful with any casebook, the text focuses on the common law developments of property from the beginning of the English system through our modern times. This concise introduction to the subject matter includes chapters on gifts; possessory estates and future interests; zoning and more. The book provides readers with clear rule statements, examples, diagrams, and other learning devices to assure that they are equipped with a strong foundation that will ensure success in their coursework, in preparing for the bar, and ultimately as practicing attorneys.

Understand better what you're learning in Property class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes 170 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 50 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."
For each multiple-choice question, Professor Nagle provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Nagle provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

Understanding Property Law is a comprehensive and authoritative treatise from our Understanding series that is suitable for use in conjunction with any Property casebook. Features include: Complete coverage of all standard property topics, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, estates and future interests, marital property, land sale transactions, servitudes, nuisance, zoning, takings, and other land use issues; Analysis of cutting-edge topics, such as property rights in human bodies, current takings issues, the new Restatement (Third) of Property (Servitudes), rights and duties of homeowners associations, and property rights in personal names and likenesses; Discussion of the policy and historical underpinnings of property law doctrines; and Clear writing and detailed organization to facilitate student understanding of both basic concepts and controversial topics.