Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
×
Due to COVID-19, visitors hoping to use the Law Library must have an appointment.
When studying in groups, wearing a mask is the number one way to prevent and reduce infection.

Resources for First Year Law Students

This guide contains information to help first year law students (1Ls) survive their first year of law school. It provides information on many different library resources to help them succeed in their first year classes and beyond.

Introduction

The mission of NCCU Law Library is to provide information services and resources that promote the performance of high-quality legal research activities by our faculty, students, staff and community. The Law Library accomplishes this by providing: (1) research and reference services by trained legal and library professionals in support of the needs of the university, alumni, legal and local communities; (2) access to information resources that support the law school’s curriculum, programs and organizations; and (3) space for faculty and students to engage in collaborative work, quiet study and innovative research using new and ground-breaking research products and techniques.

The Law Library's hours can be located here.

To learn about the policies of the NCCU Law Library, click on the links below or scroll down the page.

Circulation Policies

Borrowing Privileges

Borrowing privileges are available to the following groups:

  • Faculty, students and staff at North Carolina Central University (NCCU) may borrow materials using their NCCU University ID card.
  • Faculty, students and staff affiliated with the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN), University of North Carolina (UNC) system schools, and North Carolina community colleges may use their school identification card to register for borrowing privileges.

Circulating Materials

The loan period for circulating materials is four weeks. Students must have their Banner ID number in order to check out materials. Items may be renewed in person, by phone, or online. Before renewing materials online for the first time, you will need to obtain your user name and PIN from Circulation staff. Please call 919-530-5189 to obtain this information.

The following books do not circulate: materials on the first floor of the library (state materials, reporters, etc.), loose leaf materials, and serials. If you are unsure if the item you want circulates, please take it to the circulation desk and they will check for you.

Renewing Books

There are three ways to renew general collection* books:

  1. Books may be renewed online by logging into “My Account” via the online catalog. To obtain your log-in information and PIN, please contact the circulation desk at 919-530-5189.
  2. Patrons may renew their books in person by calling the Law Library at 919-530-5189 and providing barcodes for individual books.
  3. Patrons may also renew books in person by bringing the items to the Circulation Desk.

*Please note that reserve materials can only be renewed in person.

Reserve Materials

The loan period for reserve materials is three hours unless otherwise specified by a professor. Students must have their Banner ID number in order to check out reserve materials. Promptly returning reserve materials is extremely important so that other students may have access to the materials.

Overnight Circulation

Some reserve materials may be checked out overnight. These materials may be checked out one hour before closing and must be returned within one hour of the Library’s opening the next day. Exceptions: North Carolina Bar Exams and the last copy of a permanent reserve title do not circulate overnight.

Course Reserves

Faculty may place specific books and materials on reserve for individual courses. Please check your syllabus or with your professor to determine if the material is on “Reserve” or “Course Reserve”. Renewals for “Course Reserve” materials may be limited.

Acquisition Requests

The Law Library aspires to develop a collection of materials to support the research and instructional needs of the NCCU School of Law Community. To be successful in this goal, the Law Library welcomes recommendations of materials it should acquire. Please email recommendations to Nichelle J. Perry, Law Library Director, at nperry@nccu.edu.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

NCCU Law students may borrow resources not available at NCCU through interlibrary loan. This service allows users to borrow circulating sources from other libraries throughout the nation via OCLC. Interlibrary loan requests may be submitted at the circulation desk, by phone 919-530-6608 or email (law-ill@nccu.edu).  The ILL Request Form can also be located and completed online here.

Requestors will be notified by email when the item(s) is/are available.

Please note that the Law Library does not use the same interlibrary loan system as Shepard Library.

Services for Students with Disabilities

Students who need assistance in retrieving or copying materials, accessing the second floor of the library, or other services should ask for assistance at the circulation desk.

Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN)

NCCU participates in a triangle wide consortium which includes the University of North Carolina (UNC), North Carolina State University (NCSU), and Duke University. Membership in this consortium gives NCCU students and faculty borrowing privileges at all TRLN Libraries. Go to TRLN’s website for directions to these libraries, hours of operation and circulation policies.

University of North Carolina Cooperative Library Lending Program (UNC-COOP)

This program allows NCCU Law students and faculty to borrow materials directly from all academic libraries in the UNC system with a valid NCCU identification card.

Reference Policies

Professional dual-degreed librarians are available to assist students and faculty with the location of information and efficient use of print and electronic resources. The Law Library provides reference services via email, text messaging, telephone, in person, and by appointment.  Please note that the librarians are not permitted to give legal advice.

Email

You may contact members of the Law Library reference staff directly through the Law Library Directory. Reference staff check their email daily, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and vacation periods. You may expect a reply to your question within 1 business day from the time a librarian receives it.

Text Messaging

Patrons may ask reference questions via text message to 919-648-0247. Texts will be answered during business hours. Texts received after business hours will be answered the following business day. In addition, many reference questions require detailed research in the library. Patrons may be asked to use our email reference service or to schedule an appointment with a reference librarian for assistance with extensive questions. (Standard text messaging rates apply.)

Phone

Patrons may contact the Law Library reference desk by telephone at 919-530-6715. Telephone reference service is limited to brief legal research questions and/or general questions about the Law Library. Patrons may be asked to use our email reference service or to schedule an appointment with a reference librarian for assistance with extensive questions.

In Person

The reference desk is staffed by dual-degreed librarians able to assist patrons with locating and using many different legal resources.  Reference desk hours can be located here.

Appointments

NCCU Law students may complete the Ask a Law Librarian form, call 919-530-6715, or email a librarian directly through the Law Library Directory to schedule an appointment to discuss research strategies with a reference librarian.

‚Äč