LibGuides: Federal Government Documents: Print Resources

How Do I Find Government Documents in Print?

The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. The U.S. Government daily issues congressional bills, laws, regulations, presidential documents, studies, and more on a variety of topics and in a variety of formats. The print documents collection in the Law Library is accessible through the Library's online catalog.

If additional assistance is needed to access the collection, please consult the Law Library's Reference Librarians.

Government Documents Print Resources

Code of Federal Regulations
Annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts
Congressional Record (Bound Permanent Edition)
Issued for each session and the text is revised and rearranged from the daily edition.
Congressional Record (Daily)
The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States of America : Analysis and Interpretation
The legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases
Economic Report of the President
An annual report which gives an overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Federal Register
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
Public Laws
Issued in slip or pamphlet form. Each law includes legislative history references. Replaced at the end of each congressional session by the cumulative volumes of the United States Statutes at Large (AE 2.111:).
United States Code
The United States Code is the official codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
United States Reports
Contains the Supreme Court's opinions.
United States Statutes at Large
The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.

Visitors, please read the Law Library's Visitors Policy for updated visitor's requirements.

If research assistance is needed, please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

Federal Government Documents

More Ways to Contact Us

How Do I Find Government Documents in Print?

Government Documents Print Resources