LibGuides: Federal Government Documents: More Electronic and Print Resources

FDLP's Basic Collection

FDLP's Basic Collection

Below are some resources that the FDLP designates as vital sources of information about the workings and essential activities of the U.S. Government. You can view the full Basic Collection here.

Assistance Listings (beta.SAM.gov)
Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Code of Federal Regulations
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Current edition also available in print in the Law Library.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Materials include proclamations, executive orders, speeches, statements regarding bill signings and vetoes, nominations and appointments, acts approved by the President, and press releases.
Congress.gov
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.
Congressional Record (Bound Edition)
At the end of each session of Congress, all of the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into a permanent, bound edition. This permanent edition, referred to as the Congressional Record (Bound Edition), is made up of one volume per session of Congress, with each volume published in multiple parts, each part containing approximately 10 to 20 days of Congressional proceedings.
Congressional Record (Daily Edition)
The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
The legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.
Economic Indicators
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.
The Economic Report of the President to the Congress
An annual report which gives an overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Explore Census Data
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the island areas.
Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Last two years available in print in the Law Library.
govinfo.gov
An online database that gives free access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Government.
List of CFR Sections Affected
The List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) title. Also available in print in the Law Library.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States.
Official Congressional Directory
Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
Public and Private Laws (Slip Laws)
Public and private laws are also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is competent evidence admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group. Also available in print in the Law Library.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks. Also available in print in the Law Library
Social Security Handbook
The resource for all Social Security questions.
United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Also available in print in the Law Library.
United States Government Manual
The official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches.
United States Reports
Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. Also available in print in the Law Library.
United States Statutes at Large
The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Also available in print in the Law Library.

Print Resources through the Law Library

Print Resources Available through the Law Library

Recall that the Law Library is a Federal depository library. Below are some print resources available from the Law Library's collection.

Congressional Directory
The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts
Congressional Record (Bound Permanent Editition)
Issued for each session of Congress; the text is revised and rearranged from the daily edition.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Offers legal analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.
Economic report of the President transmitted to the Congress
Provides an overview of the nation's economic progress using a variety of data.
Public Laws
Each law includes legislative history references. It is replaced at the end of each congressional session by the cumulative volumes of the United Statutes at Large.
United States Reports
Contains the official reports of decisions for the Supreme Court of the United States
United States Statutes at Large
Contains the permanent collection of all laws and regulations enacted during each session of Congress.

Electronic Resources through the Library

Electronic Resources Available through the Law Library

Recall that the Law Library is a Federal depository library. Below are some print resources you can access through library databases and US government departmental websites.

Code of Federal Regulations
Annual edition of the general permanent rules published in the Federal Register by Federal departments and agencies.
Congressional Directory
Official directory of the United States Congress, including members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.
Congressional Record (Daily)
Provides the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Federal Register
Daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
United States Reports
Contains the official reports of decisions for the Supreme Court of the United States
United States Statutes at Large
The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.
USA.gov
The online guide to government information and services.

If research assistance is needed, please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

Federal Government Documents

Contact the Library

FDLP's Basic Collection

Print Resources through the Law Library

Electronic Resources through the Library