Criminal Law and Procedure

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.

This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.

Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.

Basic Criminal Procedure is a clear and comprehensive outline of the most important principles and issues taught in the basic Criminal Procedure law school course. It covers the 4th, 5th, and 6th Amendments, including Exceptions to the Warrant requirement, Remedies for 4th Amendment violations, the Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, Limits on Identification Evidence and the Right to Counsel. Basic Criminal Procedure also provides sample examination questions and answers.

This Nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.

Unlike casebooks, this title provides rich narrative detail of the human stories — and the social, political, and legal contexts — of notable Supreme Court cases on criminal justice. It includes details not available elsewhere, and offers the insights of respected scholars who are experts on the particular cases and issues they address. This book will greatly enhance the teaching both of police practices (a.k.a "Cops and Robbers") and of criminal adjudication (a.k.a "Bail to Jail").

When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.

Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 40 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.

Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom.

This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.

This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Too many criminal law guides bury the novice in detailed rules when nine times out of ten mastery of the fundamental concepts is the key to success on the exam or in practice. Remembering these concepts is made easier by a “forest before the trees” organization and the use of quirky, often funny examples that stick the concepts to the reader’s memory. Bonus chapters offer valuable tips for students on how to succeed in the study of the law. You’ll laugh and learn.

This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy!

This four-hour audio lecture on criminal law is useful for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Criminal Law and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would simply like to gain a more informed sense of just what American criminal law is all about. Coverage includes the traditional, foundational doctrines of criminal law like criminal intent and criminal act, discussing these concepts in dealing with crimes like homicide offenses, assault and sexual assault, theft and other property crimes. This lecture also focuses on traditional and modern defenses to criminal charges, like insanity, self defense, and the modern “Stand Your Ground” laws. But just as important as discussion of these crimes and defenses, the lecture also covers some of the most significant structural issues and skills that should be useful to you to figure out how criminal trials work, issues like distinguishing the roles of lawyers, judges, jurors and legislators, and skills like applying criminal statutes to particular cases and analyzing appellate decisions. Some useful tips on studying for and taking Criminal Law exams are included at the end.

With Law School Legends, you’ll get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject to you in one simple, dynamic lecture. The Law School Legends make even the most difficult concepts crystal clear. You’ll understand the big picture, and how all the concepts fit together. In this lecture, professor Mary Cheh of George Washington University Law School covers the basic Criminal Procedure course, which is primarily investigative criminal procedure in schools where they divide the course into two topics. One of investigative criminal procedure, and the other of criminal procedure adjudication.

This audio CD overviews the sources and nature of criminal law. Examines the theories of punishment, actus reus, mens rea, mistake of fact, and actual and proximate causation. Also addresses various defenses and criminal acts. Sum & Substance Audio CD Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The CD provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These CD’s are time saving, convenient and effective.

This audio lecture introduces the Fourth Amendment and discusses retroactivity, harmless error, and incorporation. It includes an issue checklist and examines the Katz search doctrine. It analyzes various surveillance and search methods and covers the exclusionary rule, entrapment, interrogations, pretrial procedures, trial, and the right to counsel.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways