LibGuides: Criminal Law and Procedure: Secondary Sources

Featured Criminal Law Titles

While users of this guide are advised to browse the various tabs and find the sources which best suit their needs, these treatises are considered the best in their respective fields:

Criminal Procedure in North Carolina, Third Edition by Irving Joyner
Call Number: KFN7975 .J69 2005

ISBN: 9780820574707

Publication Date: 1905-06-01

A comprehensive reference to the rules, statutes, and case law affecting criminal procedure in North Carolina.
North Carolina Criminal Defense Motions Manual by Maitri Klinkosum
Call Number: KFN7975 .K57 2012

ISBN: 9781422460740

Provides a practical, authoritative, and comprehensive overview of motions practice in North Carolina.
DWI Trial Notebook: A Trial Lawyer's Guide to Defending a DWI Case in North Carolina by David R. Teddy
Call Number: KFN7939 .T7 T42 2006

ISBN: 9781422433171

Provides fingertip access to the most important statutes, regulations, and case law related to DWI defense.

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias provide an alphabetical arrangement of legal subjects. While the two national encyclopedias (CJS and AmJur) only provide a general overview of legal subjects, state specific legal encyclopedias (such as Strong's NC Index) provide more in-depth discussion, with an emphasis on relevant statutes and case law.

Corpus Juris Secundum by West Publishing Company
Call Number: KF145.C56

This national legal encyclopedia covers state and federal legal topics. General rules of law are summarized in "Black Letter" headings and expanded upon in the text. CJS also provides the limitations and exceptions rules where appropriate. Since the citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, the user gets a full perspective of the law in local jurisdictions as well as across the country.
American Jurisprudence 2d by West Publishing Company
Call Number: KF154 .A42 2d

AmJur provides coverage of all fields of American law – state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. It collects, examines, and summarizes the broad principles of American law while providing direct leads to supporting cases and related annotations.
Strong’s North Carolina Index, 4th. by John M. Strong
Call Number: KFN7445.6 .S82

Contains case law and relevant provisions of the state's constitution, statutes, and court rules. Highlights the primary law of North Carolina, along with related references to secondary law. A 'National Background' feature added to every section refers users to comparable national law as contained in American Jurisprudence 2d.

Form Books

American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d by Publisher's Editorial Staff
Call Number: KF170 .A542

This comprehensive set allows clear, accurate, and informed application of more than 22,000 legal documents. Arranged alphabetically, each title contains form drafting guides, notes on use, and copious sample forms. Provides text discussions, checklists, finding aids, chapter outlines, commentary, practice aids, and a detailed index to the entire set.
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated by Publisher's Editorial Staff
Call Number: KF170 .A3

Collection of more than 43,000 drafted, court tested state and federal forms, checklists, and timetables needed for every stage of a case. Includes commentary and how-to guidance, plus statutory and procedural rules references.
North Carolina Criminal Trial Practice Forms by Ronald Price
Call Number: KFN7975.A65 N67 2011

Contains standard forms used in practically all cases in North Carolina. Includes nonstandard forms that can be adapted to specific factual situations. The forms are organized according to the chronology of a criminal case.
West's Legal Forms by Paul Lieberman
Call Number: KF170 .L53

Provides users with a selection of customizable forms suitable for drafting a wide range of legal documents. Organized around major topics of law, West offers expert guidance on related law and procedure from practicing attorneys. Includes detailed commentary, analysis, checklists, and library references to the Key Number System.

Federal Treatises

Criminal Law by Wayne LaFave
Call Number: KF9219 .L38 2017

ISBN: 9781683288817

Publication Date: 2017-06-30

Hardbound - New, hardbound print book.
Criminal Procedure by Wayne R. Lafave; Jerold H. Israel; Orin S. Kerr; Nancy J. King
Call Number: KF9619 .L34 2009

ISBN: 9780314199362

Publication Date: 2009-08-28

This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available in Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Search and Seizure by Wayne R. LaFave
Call Number: KF9630 .L26 2012 V.1

ISBN: 9780314613875

Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Systematically interprets and applies the Fourth Amendment to a variety of diverse fact patterns. Topics covered in this six-volume set include the exclusionary rule, protected areas and interests, and probable cause.
Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure by Randy Hertz; James S. Liebman
Call Number: KF9011 .L54 2011 V. 1

ISBN: 9781422483565

Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Practical advice and analysis of U.S. Supreme Court cases written by subject matter experts Randy Hertz and James S. Liebman.

Criminal Law Journals

Members of the NCCU Law Community may access articles from the following journals by using HeinOnline or Legaltrac while on-campus. To access either of these databases from off-campus, patrons must log in to these products with their NCCU username and password.

American Criminal Law Review
Available electronically via HeinOnline or Legaltrac

American Journal of Criminal Law
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Annual Review of Criminal Procedure (formerly part of the Georgetown Law Journal)
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Berkeley Journal of Criminal Law
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Criminal Law Review (formerly Buffalo Criminal Law Review)
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Criminal Law Brief
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Criminal Law Magazine and Reporter
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Criminal Law Quarterly
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology
Available electronically via HeinOnline or Legaltrac

Ohio State Journal of Criminal Law
Available electronically via HeinOnline

Western Criminology Review
Available electronically via HeinOnline

*In addition to consulting the aforementioned journals, patrons may also wish to search across the law journal/review collections of HeinOnline, Lexis Advance and Westlaw Edge for pertinent articles in general/primary law journals.

Visitors, please read the Law Library's Visitors Policy for updated visitor's requirements.

If research assistance is needed, please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

Criminal Law and Procedure

More Ways to Contact Us

Locating Materials in the NCCU Law Library Collection

Submit A Request for Assistance

Featured Criminal Law Titles

Legal Encyclopedias

Form Books

Federal Treatises

Criminal Law Journals