North Carolina Practice Related Materials for Lawyers and Other Legal Professionals

Dig into the building blocks of rule making. This book sets out the form and method for publishing a notice of rule making proceedings and a notice of text in the North Carolina Register and for filing a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code. It also gives practical advice and a description of current rule-making processes and provides a historical perspective on the evolution of rule making. Scholars, critics, reformers, and those who directly participate in rule making can use this reference as a basis for their own theories on improving government action. Also included are discussions of legislation and various administrative regulatory mechanisms other than rule making adjudication, permitting and licensing; enforcement; and direct provision of information, goods, and services.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Topics include the development of Alternative Dispute Resolution in North Carolina, the nuts and bolts of Alternative Dispute Resolution in North Carolina, and future developments. Published in 2012 by the North Carolina Bar Foundation.

Getting to Yes offers a concise, step-by-step, proven strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict-whether it involves parents and children, neighbors, bosses and employees, customers or corporations, tenants or diplomats. Based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project, a group that deals continually with all levels of negotiation and conflict resolution from domestic to business to international, Getting to Yes tells you how to: Separate the people from the problem; Focus on interests, not positions; Work together to create options that will satisfy both parties; and Negotiate successfully with people who are more powerful, refuse to play by the rules, or resort to "dirty tricks." Since its original publication in 1981, Getting to Yes has been translated into 18 languages and has sold over 1 million copies in its various editions. This completely revised edition is a universal guide to the art of negotiating personal and professional disputes. It offers a concise strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict.

This resource provides comprehensive guidance on the complex world of consumer protection and unfair and deceptive trade practices in North Carolina. Focuses on North Carolina General Statute 75-1.1.

This procedural guide is used by bankruptcy lawyers and paralegals across North Carolina. The Bankruptcy Practice Manual is designed to be both a primer for lawyers who do not frequently practice in the bankruptcy area and a useful resource and research tool for experienced bankruptcy lawyers.

This resource provides guidance on the complexities of bankruptcy in North Carolina.

Coverage begins with 1979 Full text available to the NCCU Law School with password.

North Carolina Civil Procedure, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide for the practitioner. It covers every step of a lawsuit from filing to conclusion. The text of each of North Carolina's Rules appears in full, with accompanying analysis by the author, & the relevant case law applying & interpreting the Rules. Wilson reviews the history & construction of the Rules, & reveals the logical thread running through them. Like the original, the Second Edition is conveniently organized for quick access in the courtroom, with each chapter discussing the correspondingly numbered Rule.

This work provides a complete discussion of current rules, including previous versions of the state Rules and the Federal Rules.

When economic times are hard, clients need their debts collected and judgments enforced more than ever for their businesses to be viable. Collecting and enforcing judgments has become an important legal process in the United States and worldwide and is now becoming a very prominent and respected specialty of the law. Judgment Enforcement, Third Edition is a best-selling desktop reference with comprehensive information about the judgment enforcement process in general and many other areas in particular. This essential one-volume work presents a concise treatment of judgment enforcement practice from discovery to execution. You'll discover: How to find, freeze, and collect hidden assets How to obtain information on the assets available How to prepare and file enforcement-related pleadings and documents. Judgment Enforcement, Third Edition has more statutes, case law, rules of procedure, service of process tips and practice tips than any two volume series in the United States. It also includes a detailed discussion of the federal judgment enforcement provisions and strategies for international execution, as well as tips and strategies for effectively executing all judgments.

Debtor, collector, and collections laws of North Carolina.

Secured transactions and forms specific to North Carolina.

"Reprinted from General Statutes of North Carolina ... Replacement Code and ... Interim Supplement."

In The North Carolina State Constitution, originally published in 1993, John Orth provides a definitive study of the historical context and significant features of each of the state's three successive constitutions. The book begins with a history of the constitutions of 1776, 1868, and 1971. Orth then reproduces the full text of the current constitution as amended through 1992. In a section-by-section commentary, he explains the origins of each provision and traces how each has been interpreted by the courts. To enhance its value as a reference, the book includes a bibliographic essay, a table of cases cited, and a subject index. A UNC Press Enduring Edition -- UNC Press Enduring Editions use the latest in digital technology to make available again books from our distinguished backlist that were previously out of print. These editions are published unaltered from the original, and are presented in affordable paperback formats, bringing readers both historical and cultural value.

Lists the 460 delegates to either or both the Hillsborough convention of 1788 and the Fayetteville convention of 1789. Includes available information about delegates' birth and death dates, the county or town each represented, whether and how each voted on ratification, and state and/or federal offices each held.

This deskbook is both a resource and research tool for experienced construction lawyers and a guide and primer for lawyers who do not frequently practice in the area of construction law.

This book is designed as a quick reference for those involved in the North Carolina local government construction process. It presents local government construction law in a readable format and includes explanations of formal and informal bidding, standards for awarding bids, bid withdrawals, and exceptions to the bidding procedures.

"October 1-2, 1993 -- Blowing Rock, NC."

"North Carolina Bar Foundation Continuing Legal Education."

Issued in three-ring binder.

Cited by the North Carolina Supreme Court and the North Carolina Court of Appeals, North Carolina Contract Law comprehensively examines the law of contracts as applied by the State's appellate courts.

Formerly published under the title An Outline of Statutory Provisions Controlling Purchasing by Local Governments in North Carolina, this publication is an easy-to-use reference for purchasing officials and others interested in the public contracting process. It gives readers a general introduction to the statutory procedures that govern contracting by local government agencies and serves as a "roadmap" through these procedures. Legislation effective July 27, 2005, changed the coverage of the informal bidding statute, G.S. 143-131. The new edition covers those changes and also incorporates 2007 legislative changes.

This resource contains information about limited liability companies in North Carolina, along with relevant practice forms.

For more than 30 years, Robinson on North Carolina Corporation Law has been the authoritative reference on corporation law in North Carolina and includes complete coverage of the laws affecting corporations in North Carolina,

North Carolina Corporation Law and Practice is a practical manual that provides guidance to both the experienced and the less experienced corporate practitioner. Changes in the Business Corporation Act and the Nonprofit Corporation Act are analyzed in depth, and complete information about the Limited Liability Company Act is provided.

The seventh edition updates the sixth edition with new offenses, legislative changes, and case law. New features of this edition include full case citations and case names replacing shortened case citations; a table of cases; and many new additional notes, such as those regarding charging issues, multiple convictions and punishments, defenses, and exceptions. Also, an improved book design will make this edition easier to use and ensure that readers quickly find what they need. The seventh edition replaces the sixth edition, 2007, and all previous editions and supplements. The 2016 Cumulative Supplement to North Carolina Crimes is availbale for purchase (https://www.sog.unc.edu/publications/books/2016-cumulative-supplement-north-carolina-crimes-guidebook-elements-crime-subscription-nc-crimes). The School of Government is excited to offer a new, web-based edition of North Carolina Crimes: A Guidebook on the Elements of Crime, Seventh Edition, 2012, by Jessica Smith. Your subscription includes future enhancements and updates to the product through March 1, 2018. Features of the online version include -Keyword searching -Linking to cross-references -Printable pages throughout the site -Accessibility anywhere your electronic device can connect to the Internet Collapsible and expandable statutes. See the North Carolina Crimes webpage for more information about this title (https://www.sog.unc.edu/resources/microsites/north-carolina-crimes-guidebook-elements-crime).

This resource is a comprehensive reference to the rules, statutes, and case law affecting criminal procedure in North Carolina. It covers every procedural aspect of the criminal case - from arrest to appeal.

Presents in chart form statutory punishments for misdemeanor and felony offenses as well as statutory punishments for certain motor vehicle offenses in North Carolina. Also includes a discussion of structured sentencing and the drivers license point system.

This manual is designed specifically for courtroom use and offers judges and practitioners many trial-tested features that not only provide fast, accurate answers to evidentiary questions, but also help the user find further authorities and secondary sources.

Contents include analysis of recent case law, statutory, and rules developments that affect the introduction of evidence in North Carolina courts.

Comprehensive coverage of the most important evidentiary topics in North Carolina. Organized by topic, this reference for trial attorneys contains citations to pertinent statutes and cases and practice issues on North Carolina evidence.

This complete reference guide to North Carolina evidence rules travels easily to the courtroom or classroom. NITA's handy guide enables you to quickly reference objections and responses during trial, instantly consult the relevant section of the North Carolina Rules of Evidence reproduced in its entirety in the last section of the book, gain insight into crucial practice tips and legal interpretations, and access to the rules when you need them the most.

This resource provides comprehensive coverage of the substantive law of all North Carolina case and statutory law, as well as other relevant material on the issues of marriage, divorce, and parent-child.

This resource analyzes the laws and policies of divorce, alimony and child custody in North Carolina.

2014 Edition

View this manual, a reference in the School's Indigent Defense Manual Series, free of charge at defendermanuals.sog.unc.edu. This manual provides relevant law and practice pointers for attorneys representing juveniles in delinquency proceedings, from intake to disposition and beyond. The topics include: petition and summons, custody hearings, probable cause and transfer hearings, discovery, motions to suppress, plea negotiations, adjudicatory hearings, dispositional hearings, probation, commitment, appeals, and expunction.

This resource provides an analysis of juvenile, child welfare, and juvenile delinquency cases encountered in North Carolina, including the history and philosophy behind each statute. Focusing on the procedural aspects of neglect, abuse, and dependency cases.

Explains North Carolina law relating to (1) access to juvenile court hearings involving delinquency and (2) access to and use of information about young people who are involved in juvenile delinquency proceedings.

This practice oriented guide demonstrates how to meet the ADA legal requirements that affect employment policies and procedures.

Clear and complete coverage of the basic legal standards governing the statutory and common law claims that can be raised on behalf of employees.

This work provides comprehensive coverage that keeps pace with the continuing evolution of the law relating to employment discrimination based on race, gender, religion, national origin, age, disability and union membership. Packed with analysis of applicable law, it covers contemporary workplace issues. The price quoted for the work, updated three times annually, covers one year's worth of service.

Of interest to trial and appellate judges, prosecutors, public defenders, and private defense lawyers, this publication sets out substantive law regarding ineffective assistance of counsel claims. It also explains the legal standards that apply to the full range of these claims including Strickland attorney error claims, denial of counsel claims, conflict of interest claims, and Harbison claims. A comprehensive catalog of North Carolina ineffective assistance of counsel cases is included.

An official publication of the North Carolina State Bar
containing the most frequently referenced rules of the
North Carolina State Bar, annotated Rules of Professional
Conduct, all ethics opinions adopted under the Rules and
Superseded (1985) Rules, and trust account guidelines.

This resource covers all personal injury liability issues, discusses property damage to the vehicle, and concludes the section with medical payments issues. It also provides a discussion of premiums, has an index, and contains appendixes with samples of standard automobile policies.

This resource provides access to the statutes pertaining to criminal law and procedure, motor vehicle law, juvenile law, and many related topics.

This resource is authored by leading criminal defense attorney David Teddy, and provides fingertip access to the most important statutes, regulations, and case law related to DWI defense.

An accessible resource for judges, attorneys, law enforcement officers, and the public, Pulled Over: The Law of Traffic Stops and Offenses in North Carolina is a new book from the School of Government that provides a comprehensive review of the law of traffic stops and motor vehicle offenses. The book discusses traffic stop procedure from beginning to end, explains the law of motor vehicle checkpoints, describes North Carolina's driver's license and vehicle registration laws, and reviews the elements of many common traffic offenses. While the book's focus is North Carolina law, much of the content is pertinent in any jurisdiction.

Content includes the most recent developments in state law and contains case law and relevant provisions of the state's constitution, statutes, and court rules.

This handbook presents the North Carolina courts' holdings on thousands of questions concerning property law. Standard real estate forms, and current coverage of major changes in the laws affecting: North Carolina Condominium Act, State's recently enacted Fair Housing Act, Laws of eminent domain, and Unfair Trade Practices Act; are included.

This resource provides a detailed and comprehensive treatment of commercial and residential real estate transactions with forms.

This item is a package of the book Property Tax Lien Foreclosure Forms and Procedures, Sixth Edition, 2003, and two Word files of the forms in the book. Property Tax Lien Foreclosure Forms and Procedures contains all forms necessary in North Carolina to foreclose a tax lien on real property by use of the mortgage-style foreclosure or the in rem method. The book describes the various forms, cites relevant court decisions, and includes procedural checklists. With your purchase, you will receive two files in Word format of the forms from the book. They are interactive and designed to be saved as templates and used repeatedly when foreclosing a tax on real property using the mortgage-style foreclosure. For updated information about the in rem method, please see the 2016 book, In Rem Foreclosure Forms and Procedures, which is also sold with a Word file of forms to use when foreclosing a tax on real property using the in rem method. For details on how to save your Word files, click here. Word File Instructions: You will be allowed to download and save/view each file 4 separate times; after the 4th time the files will no longer be available in your personal Downloads folder in the School of Government Web Store. Please SAVE both files to your local/personal hard drive or a disk for continuous viewing.

This book addresses the practical and legal issues involved in the administration and collection of property taxes within the state. Presented in a question-and-answer format, it covers such important matters as deferred taxes, tax liens, levy and sale, discovery and immaterial regularities, attachment and garnishment, refunds and releases, set-off debt collection, foreclosures, and bankruptcy. A discussion of the collection of other taxes and fees also is presented, as is a calendar of dates and tax deadlines. The book reflects all major legislative changes to the Machinery Act and related statutes through June 2011. Several chapters in the book were previously published in the School of Government 's Property Tax Bulletin series. While those bulletins will remain available free of charge on the School of Government's website, their content has been updated and expanded for publication in the book. This book updates and replaces previous editions of Property Tax Collection in North Carolina. The most recent edition published in 1998 and supplemented in 2000 was written by William A. Campbell. Professor Campbell's enduring scholarship served as both a foundation and an inspiration for this new title. A free download of the table of contents is available (https://www.sog.unc.edu/publications/books/fundamentals-property-tax-collection-law-north-carolina!/details).

This resource provides concise and reliable information for practitioners working with state taxation in North Carolina. Designed as a quick reference work, the Guidebook presents succinct discussions of state and local taxes, describing the general provisions of the respective tax laws and regulations and highlighting significant cases and administrative rulings.

Covers intentional torts and defenses as well as negligence and defenses, strict liability, defenses, and variety of other torts that overlap these categories.

This resource is a quick reference guide to the elements and case law of every recognized tort in North Carolina, including Automobile Negligence, Fraud, Medical Malpractice, and Wrongful Death claims.

This resource discusses general types of damages and applies damage principles to various substantive areas of law.

North Carolina Torts, Second Edition provides practitioners with a comprehensive treatment of all aspects of North Carolina tort law, addressing in-depth law and doctrine relating to personal injury actions as well as that concerning harm to reputation, property, and business interests. Furthermore, in an effort to illuminate the contours of North Carolina law and indicate where it might be headed, the treatise draws liberally upon case law from other jurisdictions and secondary sources. Finally, to better serve the needs of bench and bar, the treatise addresses subjects of a statutory nature that frequently intersect with the traditional common law of torts, such as 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983, RICO, and Unfair Trade Practices, which are otherwise explored in stand-alone treatises. "The book's treatment of tort theory was as detailed as anything I could ever hope for, yet easy to read and understand." -- Lawyer's Weekly, on the first edition "I am particularly impressed with the organization of the book in that there is a heavy emphasis on negligence rather than intentional conduct... I heartedly recommend it to my friends and hope that my adversaries don't find out about it!" -- Michael J. Lewis, Lewis & Daggett, on the first edition

This resource articulates the procedural steps required for the administration of the estate of a North Carolina resident. Annually updated, the Edwards' North Carolina Probate Handbook proceeds in the order of the steps encountered in the administrative process.

This resource provides the history and the evolution of probate law, statutory and case law on the subject, analysis of legislative changes, and discussion of areas of antiquity in the present law that hinder the functioning of the probate court and the settlement of estates.

This practice-oriented guide examines settlement of estates in chronological order, beginning with the qualifications and application process required for appointment as a personal representative and concluding with a discussion of the final accounting and closing of an estate.

This resource provides information on workers' compensation that is a useful resource for practitioners seeking current coverage of North Carolina's complex Workers' Compensation jurisprudence.