Legal Writing Resources

Just Memos, adapted from The Legal Writing Handbook, provides focused coverage on the proper way to write a legal memorandum. The authors explain the features unique to memo writing and how to effectively execute these features in practice. Helpful examples are included throughout the book, including both simple and more complex memoranda to give students insight into the expectations for the finished product. Like the authors’ other texts, the authors provide a straightforward, step-by-step approach that is easy for students to understand.

Teaches law students not only how to succeed in law school, but also how to succeed in the practice of law. Using graphics and visual samples, the book shows best practices in both traditional and electronic environments.

Buy a new version of this Connected Casebook and receive access to the online e-book, practice questions from your favorite study aids, and an outline tool on CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes-- portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. This streamlined text offers a straightforward guide to developing legal writing and analysis skills for beginning legal writers. Legal Writing and Analysis, Fifth Edition by Linda Edwards, leads students logically through reading and analyzing the law, writing the discussion of a legal question, and writing office memos, letters, and briefs. The text includes chapters on citation form, writing style, professionalism, and oral argument. The book features special focus on forms of legal reasoning (rules, analogies, policies, principles, customs, inferences, and narrative) complete with examples and exercises. It teaches students to recognize rule structures and use them to organize their document. New to the Fifth Edition: Streamlined chapters and exercises Updated citation materials covering current editions of both citation manuals Product page featuring more material on professional letters and accessible coverage and use of legal theory Professors and students will benefit from: Contextual learning, including important legal method material Superior treatment of how to organize a legal discussion Clear, ample coverage of legal reasoning Practice-oriented approach Numerous examples and short exercises for formative assessment Strong coverage of professional responsibility CasebookConnect features: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions from Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Emanuel Law in a Flash flashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.

The Practice Book is the ideal accompaniment to The Legal Writing Handbook. This comprehensive supplement contains the following: Hundreds of class-tested exercises to help students practice their skills while reinforcing their understanding of the material An accessible format with perforated pages that make it easy to use for both class assignments and individual study An answer key for all the exercises, cross-referenced to The Legal Writing Handbook, Sixth Edition, including short explanations about why a given answer is recommended Exercises for English-as-a-second-language issues Key topics covered in THE LEGAL WRITING HANDBOOK: PRACTICE BOOK: Paragraph length Topic and concluding sentences Active/passive voice Transitions Creating emphasis Conciseness Fragments Grammar Punctuation

A straightforward approach, framed and supported by a logical organization streamlined coverage that focuses on basic communication skills in practice complete coverage of legal writing--with outstanding chapters on writing style and how to write a memo in-depth instruction on legal analysis, oral argument, and how to write an appellate brief and a helpful preliminary overview of the American legal system.

This concise, readily accessible text focuses the first-year law student on learning the basic principles of legal writing and analysis. Starting with a straightforward introduction to law and legal method and moving on To The basics of legal writing, The text then explores the specifics of writing memos and briefs.

Writing for Litigation offers in-depth coverage and helpful tips for every type of document associated with the life of a case, from the client engagement letter to motions, discovery, client communications, affidavits, and more.