Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Due to COVID-19, visitors hoping to use the Law Library must have an appointment.
When studying in groups, wearing a mask is the number one way to prevent and reduce infection.
The Best Movies Studios Are Releasing for Free Because of the Protests
With the nation engaged in a prolonged confrontation about the history of systemic racism and anti-racist books selling out of bookstores, many filmmakers and distributors are making movies and TV series about black Americans free to watch. Some are hard-hitting documentaries about police brutality and some are simply overlooked narratives by black filmmakers, but they’re all important, and in many cases, essential. Here are some of the best.
The History That James Baldwin Wanted America to See
On March 16, 1968, James Baldwin walked to the podium at a fund-raiser, at Anaheim’s Disneyland Hotel, to introduce Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Baldwin had recently arrived in Los Angeles from New York, after Columbia Pictures had bought the rights to Alex Haley’s “The Autobiography of Malcolm X” and asked Baldwin to write the script. Though eager, he had ended up fighting desperately to bring his story of Malcolm to the screen. Baldwin wanted Billy Dee Williams to play the lead, but the studio had other actors in mind. There were even rumors that someone had suggested a darkened Charlton Heston.
Law Schools' Complicity on Racism Must Be Challenged
Corporations, newsrooms, and political institutions have faced public pressure to denounce and combat racism as activists nationwide have pushed for police reform. However, there is an institution guilty of perpetuating racial inequality that we have yet to scrutinize: American law schools.
How allowing civil lawsuits against bystander cops could change police culture (Op-ed)
Police departments across the nation are implementing policies that would require officers to intervene when fellow officers use excessive force. Minneapolis has such a policy, yet it was not enough to spur Derek Chauvin’s colleagues to intercede to save George Floyd’s life.
Databases & Websites
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
ProQuest’s History Vault contains archival materials such as letters, photographs, and journals. These materials are presented in a searchable format. Collections contained in the History Vault include the NAACP Papers and Slavery and the Law.
Slavery in America and the World : History, Culture, & Law This link opens in a new window
A searchable database which provides links to legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on this subject.