Skip to main content

Remote Learning Guide for Students

Law Library

NCCU School of Law has transitioned to online classes, but library resources are available for you. We will assess and provide library hours for the subsequent weeks based on the evolving situation and actual need.   We will update the Library Hours page on the website and LibGuide as we make these decisions.

The Law Library is available to assist with research and reference services remotely. Virtual reference assistance is available Monday through Friday, from 9 AM to 5 PM via chat, email, or teleconference (Zoom).

Email the reference staff at lawref@nccu.edu, or Zanada Joyner, zjoyner3@nccu.edu, or Matthew Neely, mneely5@nccu.edu.

Overdue Books

The library realizes that you are unable to return checked out books per the stated due dates.  Please hold onto the books that you have checked out until the library reopens. If you receive an automated overdue notice, please forward that notice, your contact information, and a brief note to Michelle Gordon at mgordon@NCCU.EDU.

Frequently Used Databases

Below is a list of the most used databases.  The full list of databases provided by the library is available here.

In addition to the databases below, there are numerous other databases for use in your research available at Shepard Library. The full list of the Shepard databases is available here.

EZ Proxy Instructions

When logging into some databases from the database list off-campus, you may receive the message below.   If you do, you must enter your NCCU login credentials to access the database.

NCCU Law Library Resources

Research Guides

The library has created Research Guides about many areas of the law.  Here is a link to a list of all of our Research Guides.

 

Library Online Catalog

The library offers access to hundreds of e-books, to locate and access these e-books, search our online catalog.

 

Interlibrary Loan

The NCCU Law Library is dedicated to ensuring that you have the materials you need to continue your studies and research. However, with the closure of many libraries across the country, please note that fulfilling Interlibrary Loan requests may be complicated. We will do our best to retrieve items that you need, and retrieval of electronic materials (journal articles, etc.) may be easier than getting physical things. Please reach out to staff in Interlibrary Loan if there is something specific you need that we do not own. 

 

Student Accessibility Services

Communicating electronically. For specific questions, email to studentdisabilityservices@nccu.edu with a brief description and contact information. Law students may prefer to access the Office of Wellness for assistance/questions with their case: brett.bowers@nccu.edu.

 

Flipster

Flipster is a digital magazine database (and app) that provides access to 100+ popular magazines. Some of the popular titles include Black Enterprise, Essence, Forbes, Time, Sports Illustrated, Vogue, Consumer Reports, PC World, Tech Life, People, etc. Everyone now has access until May 31, 2020. Please see the URL below to get started reading your favorite magazines. Access Flipster here. Log in with your NCCU ID and Password

 

Online Study Aids

Links to our online study aids and detailed instructions are available here.  The library provides access to the West Academic Study Aid Library and the Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library.

4/9/20 Update: WK Audiobooks are not functioning. The WK development team is working on addressing the audio player issues. We are aiming for the third week of April to have the player fixed. In the meantime, please make use of the videos for the topic explanation content. Thanks for your patience as we get this updated!

Tech Tips for Law Students

Remote learning is very different from traditional classes.  Below are some resources to help you best utilize the time and resources available to you.

Wellness Resources