Skip to Main Content
Visitors hoping to use the Law Library must have an appointment.
When studying in groups, wearing a mask is the number one way to prevent and reduce infection.
More Ways to Contact Us
TXT us at 919-648-0247
Email a member of the reference staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Students submit help requests here.
Faculty and staff submit help requests here.
Intellectual Property by Margreth Barrett
Call Number: KF2980 .B373 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks. Emanuel Law Outline Features: & 1 outline choice among law students Comprehensive review of all major topics Capsule summary of all topics Cross-reference table of cases Time-saving format Great for exam prep
Examples and Explanations by McJohn
Call Number: KF2980 .M42 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-26
Using proven Examples & Explanations pedagogy, this comprehensive study guide provides students with a short account of the law, followed by a variety of concrete Examples & Explanations that help reinforce and give substance to the key rules and concepts in intellectual property law. Its flexible organization lets students move freely between topics that range from copyrights, to patents, trademarks and trade secrets. Keyed to all major IP survey courses and using compelling examples, Intellectual Property: Examples & Explanations is a straightforward guide that gives students a solid grounding in this dynamic area of law.
Intellectual Property by Roger E. Schechter
Call Number: KF2979 .S3352 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-13
This reference provides an overview of unfair trade practices, including the common-law and statutory basis of unfair competition, antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and labor. Includes discussion of intellectual property, which is also composed of statutory and common-law elements. The text is a helpful resource for students studying business or commercial torts, intellectual property, trade regulation, unfair competition and unfair trade practices, and related subjects.
Patent Law by Janice M. Mueller; Mueller Janice
Call Number: KF3114 .M84 2013 (Reserves)
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
Patent Law delivers a succinct, single-volume explanation of the principal legal doctrines, key judicial authority, governing statutes, and guiding policy considerations in obtaining and enforcing a U.S. patent. The text breaks down the often abstract and complex statutes and cases into understandable pieces. A final chapter addresses central aspects of international patent law as they affect U.S. practice. Written at an appropriate level for students with or without technical backgrounds, Patent Law is suitable for use with any patent casebook. A valuable reference for students who go on to careers in IP law, the text is helpful in preparing students who choose to take the Patent Office's registration exam. Patent law terms of art are highlighted in boldface type throughout the text and defined in a glossary for quick reference. Visual aids and a sample patent with its prosecution history help students through the course.
Patent Law in Nutshell by Randall Rader; Benjamin Christoff
Call Number: KF3114.85 .A32 2018 (Reserves)
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Topics include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, remedies, and other notable doctrines. Patent law has evolved quickly in the past few years. This Nutshell captures those changes and relates them well to the overall fabric of intellectual property law. This reference is suitable for use by those with a beginner's knowledge of patent law, but it has sufficient depth to be instructive for every practitioner in this exciting and dynamic field.
Drafting Technology Patent License Agreements by Michael J. Lennon
Call Number: KF3145 .L46
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
This pragmatic guide To The patent licensing of software and other information technology zeroes in on business transaction issues - from the proposal and negotiation of patent licensing agreements To The implementation of licensing programs And The enforcement of patents. You get the kind of realistic, effective strategies that can only be gained through years of involvement with licensing activities. I Drafting Technology Patent License Agreements Michael J. Lennon draws on his own experience to advise you on: Implementing a patent licensing program Evaluating the patent portfolio Formulating a licensing strategy Using databases in patent practice Understanding the due diligence issues relating to information technology Recognizing crucial clauses in patent licensing agreements and more Case studies in developing a patent licensing program help you see the principles in action. A disk of 40 patent license agreements accompanies the book. In the high-stakes world of information technology, The right patent licensing agreement can be a crucial component of a successful business plan. Let Michael Lennon show you how to go beyond simple legal accuracy to take full advantage of business opportunities for your clients.
Epstein on Intellectual Property by Michael A. Epstein
Call Number: KF2979 .E67 4th ed.
Publication Date: 1999-08-19
Packed with insightful analysis, expert guidance, and clear, practical examples, this key resource provide up-to-date, integrated coverage of the law of trade secrets, copyright, trademarks and patents, ideas, and noncompetition agreements. Epstein on Intellectual Property, Fourth Edition covers the latest legal developments in such hot areas as biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more. You will consult this reference for expert answers to questions such as how to: Prevent the unauthorized use and disclosure of your company's trade secrets Determine what types of materials and information are covered by the copyright laws Apply for and enforce patents Reduce the risk of claims under the 'law of ideas' Make effective use of noncompetition agreements Deal with the unique problems of biotechnology
Intellectual Property and Competition by Michael A. Carrier (Editor)
Call Number: KF3116 .I5685 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
'Professor Carrier has done an excellent job of assembling the most significant scholarship on the intersection of intellectual property and competition laws. The major schools of thought are fairly represented. This volume is comprehensive and includes both the essential foundational work in this field as well as recent influential commentaries on the latest controversies, including patent pools, refusals to license, and reverse settlements in pharmaceutical patent litigation.'- Christopher R. Leslie, University of California - Irvine, USThe intersection of the intellectual property and competition laws presents uniquely complicated legal issues. In this essential volume Professor Carrier brings together 14 of the most important works written about the intersection. The entries, from leading judges, government officials, academics, and economists, explore history, the 'new economy', and frameworks to resolve the tension between the laws. They also address refusals to license, patent pools, innovation markets, standard setting organizations, and pharmaceutical patent settlements. Alongside an original introduction, this book is an authoritative reference tool for attorneys, academics, and others interested in intellectual property and competition issues.
Intellectual Property and Innovation by Shubha Ghosh (Editor)
Call Number: K1401 .I5534 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-25
This illuminating two-volume collection presents leading articles on the theory and practice of intellectual property law as it applies to the promotion of innovation in economic, social, and legal dimensions. Topics include the role of law and incentives, cumulative and open forms of innovation, as well as discussion of its social dimensions, relationship with market institutions and how to chart a course for future innovation policy. Together with an original introduction by the editor, this collection offers a compelling overview of the ideas that ignite and enliven innovation scholarship, invaluable to academics and policymakers alike.
Intellectual Property Law Dictionary by Rachel Gader-Shafran (Editorial Board Member, Contribution by)
Call Number: KF2977.5 .G33
Publication Date: 2018-01-28
This complete, one-stop lexicon of IP terminology helps you understand and apply the language of intellectual property in any situation. Designed for lawyers, law students, professors and anyone who works closely with intellectual property issues, the Intellectual Property Law Dictionary contains six sections explaining the meaning and legal background of terms used in copyright, trademark, patent, trade dress, nanotechnology and trade secrets, both in the U.S. and internationally. More than just a dictionary, it provides detailed citations to source materials with every definition. You'll also find an "Overview of Intellectual Property", explaining the essentials of each type of intellectual property and appendices offering concise histories of the law of copyright, patents, trademark, trade dress, nanotechnology and trade secrets. There's no need to pore over dozens of pages of statutes, treaties and cases to find out what a new expression or acronym means. With this useful reference, you'll get the answers you need, quickly and easily.
Intellectual Property Litigation by Eric M. Dobrusin; Katherine E. White
Call Number: KF2983 .D632 2nd
Publication Date: 1999-10-20
This remarkable guide offers comprehensive case analysis and a clear framework for streamlining the procedural requirements and issues involved in resolving patent, copyright, or trademark disputes. Intellectual Property Litigation: Pretrial Practice helps you save time by doing the research for you and lays the groundwork for success, whether your case is settled or ultimately goes to trial.You'll discover:An exhaustive compilation of key intellectual property cases decided over the past 20 yearsExpert analysis of the case law interpreting and applying the rulesValuable tactical guidance and model forms at your fingertipsAnd more.
Manual for the Handling of Applications for Patents, Designs and Trademarks Throughout the World by Arnold; Siedsma; Godeau
Call Number: K1500 .M36
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Click here to view the sample chapter Without question, the Manual for the Handling of Applications for Patents, Designs and Trademarks throughout the World is the most comprehensive, authoritative reference for the international industrial property practice.Its exhaustive contents include: ; Separate chapters, in alphabetical order, for nearly 200 countries and several regional industrial property protection systems. The full text of the most important convention, treatises, and agreements (including the Paris Convention, the Patent Cooperation Treaty, and the Madrid Agreement). A section on the European Patent System, describing the European Patent Convention and its implementing regulations. Information is given, inter alia, with respect to the following: Patents: ; Kinds of Patents available Duration of protection Who may apply What may be patented Novelty requirements Filing, examination and granting procedure Requirements for filing application Priority Annuities and other fees Working requirements Compulsory licenses Rights of prior use Restoration Infringement Assignment Licenses Marking Trademarks: ; Duration of protection Legal effect Who may apply What can be registered as a mark What is excluded from registration Filing, examination and registration procedure Requirements for registration Requirements for renewal Assignment Licenses Infringement Fees Service marks Collective marks Certification marks Marking Use requirements Protection of well-known marks Cancellation Invalidation Classification Designs: ; What can be protected Duration and renewal Who may apply Novelty requirements Procedure Requirements for filing application Annuities (if any)
Patent Law by Ronald B. Hildreth
Call Number: KF3098 .H55 1998
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
This authoritative, one-stop source of practical information on patent law fundamentals is stocked with forms, diagrams, flowcharts, and hypothetical Q&As. Patent Law gives you a hands-on knowledge of the rights, obligations, and limits of all parties - laws governing different types of patents - basics of patent office prosecution - tests used to determine the validity of inventions, direct infringement, and third-party liability - and the steps involved in preparing specifications and patent claims.
Patents by Joseph Scott Miller (Editor)
Call Number: K1501 .P38 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-31
Contemporary patent law continues to struggle with the most basic questions of patent system design. There is fierce debate over the power of the Patent Office, the role of the courts, incentives to guide the process and many other fundamental issues. Professor Miller brings together seminal articles which are acknowledged to be the proper foundations for these ongoing debates. This indispensable collection of papers is vital for patent policy makers and serves as an excellent reference source for anyone with an interest in the topic.
Patents by Donald S. Chisum
Call Number: KF3114 .C47
Publication Date: 1978-01-01
This work provides every legal detail needed to understand, secure and protect a patent claim. Chisum on Patents is a recognized authority on US patent law, cited by courts in all jurisdictions as well as the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.