Skip to Main Content
×
Visitors, please read the Law Library's Visitors Policy for updated visitor's requirements.

The Law Library strives to provide a space where students and faculty can research, study, and collaborate in a safe and comfortable environment. The following policies were created to preserve the collection, equipment, and furnishings for all library users.

Conduct

Animals & Pets

The Law Library follows University Regulation 40.01.5 - Service Animals and Emotional Support Animals on Campus. Except for service animals, pets are not allowed in the Law Library. 

Cell Phones

Law Library users are to set mobile phones on non-audible signals and must limit phone conversations to the Phone Zone next to the library entrance or outside of the library.

Food and Drink

The Law Library allows the consumption of cold snacks (chips, candy, etc.) and covered drinks. Please respect library spaces and law school students, faculty, and staff by consuming hot meals and messy or smelly food outside of the library in designated areas. Repeat offenders will be reported for disciplinary action.

Noise Level

Students and patrons should refrain from loud or disruptive conversations, or other excessively noisy behavior at all times. Group study is allowed on the first floor of the Law Library, as well as in the group study rooms on the library's second floor. Please note that the study rooms are not soundproofed. The Law Library's upper floor carrels, pods, and open study areas are to be used for silent study only. Headphones must be used at all times throughout the library and listening levels must be maintained at levels not audible to others nearby.

Resources

Computers and Printing

The Law Library provides public computer terminals for accessing the online catalog and University and Law School databases. Access to these terminals is on a first-come, first-serve basis. Patrons should refrain from performing extensive projects on these computers. 

Equipment Problems

Please do not attempt to solve equipment problems. If a library printer has a paper jam, needs paper, or ink, or if any other equipment has any problem, please report it to the Service Desk immediately. Equipment issues, including running out of ink and paper, for equipment outside the law library should be directed to the IT Help Desk.

Visitors

Visitors are permitted to use the library Monday-Friday from 9am-5pm. Appointments are required when reference assistance is needed.

All visitors must check in at the security desk at the front entrance of the law school and the Library Service Desk upon arrival.

Visitors are defined as library patrons who are not currently NCCU students, staff, or faculty. Alumni are classified as visitors.

Contacting the Law Library

  • Access Services
    Email: lawlibrary@nccu.edu
    Phone: 919-530-5189
     
  • Reference
    Email: referencelaw@nccu.edu
    Text: 919-648-0247
     
  • Online options
    If you do not need to come into the library in person, but have a question for a library staff member, the following options are available.
     
    • Chat with a librarian: The Law Library’s chat service is available during the library’s hours. Research assistance is available from 8am-5pm, Monday-Friday. Click on the blue “Live Chat” button at the top right of the Law Library’s website. From there, enter your name and ask your question.
       
    • Ask A Librarian: You can reach out to library staff at any time using the “Ask A Librarian” link to the right in the main menu bar on the library’s website. Fill out the form that opens and a staff member will get back to you during library business hours (8am-5pm, M-F).

The Law Library provides access to the library space without an appointment. This includes:

  • Access library spaces to study

  • Use of the library’s collections without the need for research help


Scheduling a Research Visit

  • Fill out the Law Library’s Visitor Appointment Form and let us know what kind of assistance you need.
     
  • It may take Law Library staff up to 24 business hours from when you submit your form to confirm your appointment.

    The Law Library’s email is checked regularly 8am-5pm, Monday through Friday, excluding university recognized holidays and breaks. Please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

**PLEASE NOTE THAT LIBRARY STAFF MAY NOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE,
such as providing help filling out legal forms.**

The Law Library provides reference services including:

  • Assisting patrons in locating information and identifying resources
  • Developing search strategies for catalogs, databases, the web, and indexes to assist patrons in finding needed information
  • Providing assistance in legal research methodology
  • Quick research suggestions and answers via text/email.

Reference Librarians cannot:

  • The reference staff cannot provide substantive advice on a legal problems, interpret legal materials for you, explain how the law applies to your particular case, or assist you in filling out legal forms.

    If you need assistance with any of these issues, please reach out to the Law School Pro Bono Clinics at 919-530-7166 to see if a lawyer can assist you.

All visitors must adhere to the Law Library's Conduct and Resources Policies.

Policy Compliance

In cases of exceptional or repeated violation of library policies, the Law Library reserves the right to revoke or refuse access to our facilities.