LibGuides: Health Law: Primary Sources in Health Law

Federal Statutes

Health law legislation can be found in various U.S Codes, such as :

Title 42: The Public Health Welfare
- 42 U.S.C. § 1395 - Medicare
- 42 U.S.C. § 1396 - Medicaid
- 42 U.S.C. § 12101 - Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Title 24: Hospitals and Asylums
Title 21: Food and Drugs
Title 29: Labor
- 29 U.S.C § 651 - Occupational Safety & Health
- 29 U.S.C. § 2601- Family and Medical Leave Act
Title 38: Veteran's Benefits

NCCU Law offers those with NCCU credentials access to the U.S. Code through the following electronic databases:

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides full-text, PDF files of a variety of legal resources. Its 70+ sub-databases include a comprehensive law review and journal library; U.S. and international government materials such as the U.S.C., C.F.R., Papers of the Presidents, U.S. Reports, and world constitutions; and resources organized by topics such as gun regulation, civil rights, intellectual property law, and indigenous American law.

Users can search across all databases at once, browse databases by categories like Case Law or International Resources, or select a specific database by name, like LGBTQ+ Rights or Military Legal Resources.
Govinfo This link opens in a new window
Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government.
LII/ Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Developed by Cornell University, LII/Legal Information Institute is a not-for-profit organization that provides open access to primary state and federal legal materials as well as links to a wide array of US and international legal reference websites. Contents include access to WEX, a free online legal encyclopedia.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ and Lexis.com are premier research platforms that provide access to multiple legal databases, including federal and state case law, statutes, administrative regulations, as well as a robust library of secondary sources and practice aids. Access is available only to NCCU law students, faculty, and staff. Username and password required.
Westlaw Campus Research via Thomson Reuters This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Collection of news and business information and law related resources. Decisions and case law from all state and federal courts. Laws from all state and federal statutes. Federal regulations. Off-campus access is not available to non-NCCU researchers.

Federal and State Agencies

U.S Department of Health and Human Services
The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.
U.S Food and Drug Administration
The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for workers by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. For more than 70 years, they’ve put science into action to help children stay healthy so they can grow and learn; to help families, businesses, and communities fight disease and stay strong; and to protect the public’s health.
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services manages the delivery of health- and human-related services for all North Carolinians, especially the most vulnerable citizens – children, elderly, disabled and low-income families. The Department works closely with health care professionals, community leaders and advocacy groups; local, state and federal entities; and many other stakeholders to make this happen.
World Health Organization
Founded in 1948, WHO is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health.