LibGuides: Career Services Resources: Print Resources

Print resources are available at the Law Library

Each book provided below is available inside the law library.

When you click the book's link, it will take you to the record for that particular book and where it is located within the library. If it is in the stacks, those books are located on the second floor of the library. If it is located on the "Career Services" shelf, it is located on the first floor of the library next to the DVD collection. Refer to the NCCU Law Library maps for additional directions.

The print resources available are divided into the following categories:

Build/Plan for Your Legal Career

The Early-Career Guide for Attorneys by Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF297 .L37 2018
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
A guide that can be used during law school that includes tips on job searches, legal internships, research and writing assignments, litigation, and many other areas.
24 Hours with 24 Lawyers by Jasper Kim
Call Number: KF300 .K56 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
This book gives you a unique "all-access pass" into the real-world, real-time personal and professional lives of twenty-four law school graduates. From the time they wake up in the morning to the time they go to bed, each professional illustrates what their position entails on a day-to-day basis and will give you invaluable, informative, and honest insight above and beyond what many brochures, guest lectures, career workshops, or law firm website descriptions can provide.
Advice for the Lawlorn by Ann M. Israel
Call Number: KF299.I5 I835 2014
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Advice for the Lawlorn is a career guide for all attorneys, "wannabe" attorneys, law students, and undergraduates thinking about becoming law students because it covers from soup to nuts all aspects of looking for a job in the legal industry.
Law Firm Survival Manual by Nancy B. Rapoport; Jeff Van Niel
Call Number: KF297 .R37 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
A manual that can be used during law school that includes tips on interviewing, Clerkships, and many other areas.
Law Jobs by Andrew McClurg; Christine Coughlin; Nancy Levit
Call Number: KF297 .M33 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Law Jobs is a comprehensive, reader-friendly guide to every type of legal career. Choosing a legal career that fits a student’s personality, skillset, and aspirations is the most important and difficult decision a law student faces, yet only a small number of law schools incorporate career-planning into their curriculums. Law Jobs: The Complete Guide seeks to fill the gap.
Career Match by Shoya Zichy; Ann Bidou (As told to)
Call Number: HF5381 .Z467 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Career Match contains the ten-minute self-assessment that can change your life. After a simple quiz to determine your personality style, turn to the corresponding chapter that reads as if it was written just for you and discover what ideal work options there are for you.

Networking Resources

100 Things You Need to Know by Mary Crane
Call Number: HD69.S8 C73 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
A list of the 100 most important things you need to know as you begin to build your networks--crucial information in easy-to-absorb, almost tweetable chunks.
Strategic Networking for Introverts, Extroverts, and Everyone in Between by Carol Schiro Greenwald
Call Number: HM741 .G75 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-02
This book outlines how taking the time to plan, prepare and follow specific action steps will make you comfortable with your networking efforts and increase your effectiveness.
Excellence in the Workplace, Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell by Kay Kavanagh; Paula Nailon
Call Number: KF297 .K38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
This book includes a section on the art (or horror) of networking.

Job Hunt Resources

The New Lawyer's Survival Guide, Vol. 1 by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: KF297 .H437 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Job search strategies for Entry-Level attorneys.
Managing Your Legal Career by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: KF297 .H45 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
This thorough guide--divided into short, specific sections that touch on what you'll need to do before your new job hunt, while you're looking, as you're sitting in the interview, once you've gotten an offer, and everything in between--covers everything you need to know.
100 Days to Your Next Job for Law Students and New JDs by Pamela Davidson
Call Number: KF297 .D385 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
The book's progressive week-by-week format provides a unique and flexible plan that eliminates the uncertainty and anxiety from one of life's biggest stressors - landing that next job.
Professional Prosperity for Lawyers by Greg Yates
Call Number: KF297.Z9 Y37 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
This book can help you revitalize your career to find the perfect job and create your ideal career.

Resource on Interviewing and Resume and Cover Letter Writing

Telling Your Story by Jo Ellen Dardick Lewis
Call Number: KF297 .L49 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Telling Your Story uses techniques students learn in legal writing classes to teach them how to draft memorable resumes and cover letters.
Succeeding in Law School by Herbert N. Ramy
Call Number: KF283 .R36 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-01
As the first year of law school comes to a close, students can use chapters on interviewing techniques, creating a writing sample, and writing a résumé to help market themselves to prospective employers.
Persuasive Writing by Duhart
Call Number: KF250 .C36 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
Persuasive Writing: A Storytelling Approach teaches students how to write effective motion briefs, and other types of persuasive writing (including cover letters and emails) by threading a narrative or "storytelling" theme throughout the entire text.
High-Impact Interview Questions by Victoria A. Hoevemeyer; Paul Falcone (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF5549.5 .I6 H59 2018
Publication Date: 2017-10-19
Complete with advice on evaluating answers and assessing cultural fit, the second edition of High-Impact Interview Questions features dozens of all-new questions designed to gauge: accountability, assertiveness, attention to detail, judgment, follow-through, risk-taking, and more.

Resources About Legal Internships and Time in Law School

The Bridge: How to Launch Your Career Through a Legal Internship by Maxwell D. Rosenthal
Call Number: KF282.7 .R67 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
The Bridge is a blueprint for students to help in obtaining the legal internship that is best for them and using that experience to take control of their career.
Roadmap: The Law Student's Guide to Meaningful Employment by Neil W. Hamilton
Call Number: KF287 .H36 2018
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
The book encourages you to use your time in law school to develop the competencies important to your future, and helps the reader form a conscious plan to demonstrate these self-development experiences.
Finding Your Voice in Law School by Molly Bishop Shadel
Call Number: KF283 .S52 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Finding Your Voice in Law School offers a step-by-step guide to the most difficult tests you will confront as a law student, from making a speech in front of a room full of lawyers to arguing before a judge and jury.
Beyond One L by Nancy Levit; Allen Rostron
Call Number: KF287 .B49 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Beyond One L explores first, second, and third year experiences in the decades since One L was published. It then moves beyond law school to tell the stories of taking the bar, searching for judicial clerkships, practicing law, and leaving law practice to become a teacher or judge.

Resources About Specific Legal Practice Areas

Practice Perspectives : Vault's Guide to Legal Practice Areas by Nicole S. Weber, editor
Call Number: KF300 .P73 2019
In this guide, you will find more than 30 interviews with attorneys who are at the top of their fields at some of the most prestigious law firms in the country. They asked these partners and associates all about their specific practice areas.
Entertainment Careers for Lawyers by William D. Henslee; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by); American Bar Association, Law Student Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF299.E57 H46 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Entertainment Careers for Lawyers, Third Edition, will dispel many of the myths surrounding the practice and help lawyers and law students gain an understanding of the realities of entertainment law.
Careers in Sports Law by Marc Edelman; Geoffrey Christopher Rapp; American Bar Association, Forum on the Entertainment and Sports Industries Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF299 .S66 E34 2014
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
This book conducts a thorough, thoughtful investigation of what options may exist and what kinds of steps are needed to maximize one s chances of netting a coveted sports law job.
Solo Out of Law School by Michael F. Brennan
Call Number: KF300.5 .B74 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-27
Solo Out of Law School is a book for both law students thinking about a solo career and attorneys looking to open their own firms. It's about mindset, motivation, and viewing your solo career with perspective that allows you to see yourself and your work as something you can be proud of.
Making Partner by Adam Gropper
Call Number: KF297 .G77 2013
Publication Date: 2014-09-07
Making Partner provides you with a clear pathway past the obstacles to your success, even in the most difficult firm cultures. Making Partner provides practical information and specific advice about how to obtain a position at a top law firm of any size, including AmLaw 100 firms, and how to excel once you are there.

21st Century Legal Career Series

Build a legal career in one of the hottest 21st century employment arenas. In his 21st Century Legal Career Series, Richard L. Hermann researches, evaluates, and predicts where the employment opportunities are and will be for law graduates. The available volumes for this series is provided and linked below.

Volume 1. Data protection practice : the brave new legal world
Volume 3. Health law : career opportunities in a fast-changing environment
Volume 5. "Soft" intellectual property law : IP opportunities for non-STEM attorneys
Volume 6. Risk management : the indispensable profession
Volume 7. The administrative law revolution : learning to litigate in a forgiving environment
Volume 9. The education sector : overwhelmed by the law
Volume 10. Law teaching & training : law school & way beyond
Volume 11. Insurance careers for attorneys : opportunity in expected & unexpected places
Volume 12. JD advantage jobs in corporations : expanding the legal function
Volume 13. Tricks of the trade (and professional) associations : a huge "hidden" legal job market
Volume 14. Trains, planes, and automobiles : reinventing transportation law
Volume 15. I, robot lawyer : opportunities and threats in an Orwellian world
Volume 18. Non-traditional family law : serving the "new normal."

JD Alternative Career Resources

The New What Can You Do with a Law Degree by Larry Richard; Tanya Hanson; Deborah L. Arron
Call Number: KF297 .A875 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Lawyers are introduced to a unique five-part model for career satisfaction. It is based on a well-established principle that the better the fit between your career identity and your job, the greater your long-term satisfaction.
Life after Law by Liz Brown
Call Number: KF297 .B725 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Written by Harvard-trained ex-law firm partner Liz Brown, Life After Law: Finding Work You Love with the J.D. You Have provides specific, realistic, and honest advice on alternative careers for lawyers.

Visitors, please read the Law Library's Visitors Policy for updated visitor's requirements.

If research assistance is needed, please do not visit the library without receiving confirmation of your appointment from a library staff member.

Career Services Resources

More Ways to Contact Us