Skip to main content

Reserves

The Reserve section, located behind the Circulation Desk, houses course reserves, the study aid collection, and the DVD / CD collection.  The loan period for reserve materials is three hours (3 days for DVDs), unless otherwise specified. Reserve items must be renewed in person, and will be approved at the discretion of the library staff. Promptly returning reserve materials is important to ensure equal access for all students.

Failure to return Reserves items on time can result in the temporary suspension of your Westlaw account and fines of $0.25 per hour.

Overnight Circulation

Some reserve materials may be checked out overnight. These materials may be checked out one hour before closing and must be returned within one hour of the Library’s opening the next day.

Evening students may request to checkout (1) item* from Reserves after 9:20 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. the following day (6 p.m. on Saturdays).  Late returns for these extended checkouts will be charged double the late fee ($.50/hour) for each hour beyond the regular 3-hour checkout period.  Extended checkout privileges for evening students do not apply during exam periods or holidays.

*Some materials may not qualify for extended checkout, at the discretion of library staff.

Course Reserves

Faculty may place material on reserve for individual courses by contacting their library liaison or the Access Services Librarian.

Study Aid Collection

The library has a large collection of study aids, including review books, flash cards, and audio CDs.  Reserves materials are available at the circulation desk.  Due to their high popularity, study aids are due within 3 hours of checkout.  

Online Study Aids (Trial Period Ends December 2017)

Examples and Explanations and Glannon Guide study aids online.  Follow these instructions to access.

DVD Collection

The Law Library's popular DVD collection circulates differently from the rest of the collection.  The circulation policy, spelled out below, was designed to keep the collection readily accessible for NCCU law students, faculty, and staff.

Borrowing Privileges

  • Only NCCU law students, faculty, and staff may check out DVDs from the Law Library's DVD Collection.

Circulation Period

  • Materials from the Law Library's DVD collection circulate for 3 days.

  • Patrons can check out up to 3 DVDs at a time.

Check Out Process

  • To check out DVDs from the collection, select the DVD box you would like to check out from the DVD display located on the shelves behind the Reference Desk.

  • Take the DVD case to the Circulation Desk so a Circulation Assistant can get the DVD for you.

Take a look at a list of titles available for checkout.