Legal Letters

Thorough coverage of proper legal writing technique and style to help students resolve questions and develop strong writing skills.Accessible and user-friendly, this complete reference book features:grammar, style, and usage presented in a clear, complete, and succinct format numerous helpful examples that illustrate strong and effective legal writing as well as common errors to avoid a special Legal Documents section that offers tips and strategies for writing letters, memoranda, and briefs (both trial and appellate).

Law students and practicing lawyers will find this handbook to be an excellent guide-or refresher-to effective legal writing. You'll find topics ranging from such basics as grammar and meaning, to how to research, organize, and prepare a written document. Topics covered include legal writing style; writing case and appellate briefs; legal reasoning; and how to do your best in final examinations.

All lawyers write'and the documents they write must be clear, technically perfect, and effective. This concise manual guides lawyers, law students, and paralegals through all phases of the writing process, from preparing to write to polishing a finished draft. Written in accessible, easy-to-understand language, it offers practical suggestions on outlining and establishing deadlines as well as comprehensive, jargon-free advice on grammar, punctuation, usage, document formatting, editing and proofreading.The manual is written by an experienced teacher and practitioner and is intended as a reference for lawyers at all levels of experience who know what they want to write but who might have forgotten the details of the more mechanical aspects of writing. Uncluttered by lengthy examples or exercises, this short reference work provides brief illustrations to clarify the text and focuses on helping writers produce legal documents of all types that are easily read, technically accurate, and effective.

A solid guide to successful legal memo writing.

Teaches law students not only how to succeed in law school, but also how to succeed in the practice of law. Using graphics and visual samples, the book shows best practices in both traditional and electronic environments.

Book on legal reasoning, legal writing, and persuasive argument.

Buy a new version of this Connected Casebook and receive access to the online e-book, practice questions from your favorite study aids, and an outline tool on CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes-- portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. This streamlined text offers a straightforward guide to developing legal writing and analysis skills for beginning legal writers. Legal Writing and Analysis, Fifth Edition by Linda Edwards, leads students logically through reading and analyzing the law, writing the discussion of a legal question, and writing office memos, letters, and briefs. The text includes chapters on citation form, writing style, professionalism, and oral argument. The book features special focus on forms of legal reasoning (rules, analogies, policies, principles, customs, inferences, and narrative) complete with examples and exercises. It teaches students to recognize rule structures and use them to organize their document. New to the Fifth Edition: Streamlined chapters and exercises Updated citation materials covering current editions of both citation manuals Product page featuring more material on professional letters and accessible coverage and use of legal theory Professors and students will benefit from: Contextual learning, including important legal method material Superior treatment of how to organize a legal discussion Clear, ample coverage of legal reasoning Practice-oriented approach Numerous examples and short exercises for formative assessment Strong coverage of professional responsibility CasebookConnect features: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions from Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Emanuel Law in a Flash flashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.

Grounded in the premise that legal reasoning and legal writing are best learned when they are taught together. Building on that foundation, Neumann continues to offer complete, clear, and timely coverage of how to form a legal argument and how to write an effective legal memorandum. Streamlined in its Sixth Edition, Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing features : comprehensive coverage of legal writing: the office memo the motion memo the appellate brief eminently readable text, including an exceptionally lucid explanation of the reasoning behind the proof of a conclusion of law a thoughtful treatment of all aspects of legal reasoning student-friendly instruction on the process of writing, The mechanics of style, and grammar up-to-date examples and exercises sample documents in the Appendices, including an office memo, motion memo, and two appellate briefs Highly regarded author Richard K. Neumann, Jr. presents, In tandem, smart, in-depth coverage of legal writing and legal reasoning, supported by examples, writing samples, and extraordinarily clear and lucid exposition.

Provides concise but complete explanations of writing skills. And it is supplemented by a dynamic and unique website with many additional teaching tools.This concise, basic text for legal writing courses features :succinct explanations that don't sacrifice coverage step-by-step guidance through the process of writing manageably short chapters focused on essential skills improved explanation of the CREAC formula (also known as the paradigm)innovative and vivid coverage of how to use storytelling in fact statements coverage of office memos, motion memos, and appellate briefs checklists and exercises throughout

The Practice Book is the ideal accompaniment to The Legal Writing Handbook. This comprehensive supplement contains the following: Hundreds of class-tested exercises to help students practice their skills while reinforcing their understanding of the material An accessible format with perforated pages that make it easy to use for both class assignments and individual study An answer key for all the exercises, cross-referenced to The Legal Writing Handbook, Sixth Edition, including short explanations about why a given answer is recommended Exercises for English-as-a-second-language issues Key topics covered in THE LEGAL WRITING HANDBOOK: PRACTICE BOOK: Paragraph length Topic and concluding sentences Active/passive voice Transitions Creating emphasis Conciseness Fragments Grammar Punctuation

A straightforward approach, framed and supported by a logical organization streamlined coverage that focuses on basic communication skills in practice complete coverage of legal writing--with outstanding chapters on writing style and how to write a memo in-depth instruction on legal analysis, oral argument, and how to write an appellate brief and a helpful preliminary overview of the American legal system.

This concise, readily accessible text focuses the first-year law student on learning the basic principles of legal writing and analysis. Starting with a straightforward introduction to law and legal method and moving on To The basics of legal writing, The text then explores the specifics of writing memos and briefs.

Writing for Litigation offers in-depth coverage and helpful tips for every type of document associated with the life of a case, from the client engagement letter to motions, discovery, client communications, affidavits, and more.