Skip to main content

Civil Rights: ProQuest History Vault

This guide will assist you in finding online and print resources on civil rights.

ProQuest Training Materials

For additional assistance, see Proquest's user guides or sign up for a webinar.

History Vault


Organizers of the March on Washington. The History Vault Collection contains personal accounts of this event.

History Vault

ProQuest's History Vault contains documents from tumutuous periods in America's history. NCCU Law Library has two collections: the NAACP Papers and the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.

The NAACP Papers are the result of the digitization of the Organization's archives. This Collection includes internal memos, reports from annual meetings, and other documents  from 1901-1972. The documents focus on the major campaigns of the NAACP including school integration, lynching, criminal justice systems, employment, and housing. The Collection also includes major speeches such as an address by Thurgood Marshall following the Brown v. Board of Education decision.

The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes records from Federal agencies like the Department of Justice files and the Federal Bureau of Investigation files. The Collection also includes personal papers from prominent African Americans. These personal accounts document important moments in the civil rights movement, like the March on Washington. This Collection also includes the papers of Mary McLeod Bethune and the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs. 

The papers of Mary McLeod Bethune (pictured above) are a part of the Collection.

Search History Vault

This video highlights the contents of the Collections and the database's search features.The Collections can be searched by event or time period. The contents can also be searched using keywords. Additionally, you can browse the Collections as they are sub-divided into groups with similar materials.

Contact Information

Lance Burke's picture
Lance Burke
Contact:
NCCU School of Law Library

640 Nelson Street

Durham, NC 27707

Office 919.530.7179

Fax 919.530.7926

More Ways to Contact Us

TXT us at 919.648.0247

Email us at referencelaw@nccu.edu

Call us at 919.530.6715

Ask a Librarian