Skip to main content

NCCU Law Library Orientation: Westlaw/LexisNexis/Bloomberg/CALI

This LibGuide provides law students with basic information about the Law Library to help introduce them to the law school experience.

Helpful User's Guides

The following guides will assist you with step by step instructions on the use of various databases you will need to use during your law school career.

Westlaw User Guides - These user guides will assist you with using Westlaw and its different tools.  They will also assist you completing the most common tasks a law student performs (locating cases, statutes, and other documents).

LexisNexis Interactive Tutorials - These tutorials will assist you with using LexisNexis tools and products in conducting legal research.

LexisNexis FAQs - This site will help you with creating and accessing your LexisNexis account and provides some basic information to help you begin using the database effectively. 

FAQ

What is Westlaw?  Westlaw is one of the primary legal research databases legal professionals use.  During Orientation, you will be given a user name and password to access Westlaw.  Once you have registered for Westlaw, you will be able to access TWEN (a course management tool) and databases providing you with access to cases, statutes, law reviews, and other legal materials.

What is LexisNexis?  LexisNexis is one of the primary legal research databases legal professionals use.  During Orientation, you will be given a user name and password to access LexisNexis.  Once you have registered for LexisNexis, you will be able to access Web Courses (a course management tool) and databases providing you with access to cases, statutes, law reviews, and other legal materials.

Do I need to learn how to use both Westlaw and LexisNexis?  It is beneficial to learn both Westlaw and LexisNexis along with many other legal research databases.  Students taking the time to learn their way around as many legal databases as possible during their law school careers will find legal research in practice much easier to do.  This is because not all law firms, courts, or private practitioners use the same database.  Proficiency in both Westlaw and LexisNexis, along with tools such as Fastcase and CasemakerX, will make conducting legal research a less stressful process.  Keep your eyes open for the Law Library's many workshops about using legal databases.

What is Bloomberg? Bloomberg Law is a newer legal research database. While it is not yet as comprehensive as Lexis or Westlaw, they continue to add content and update their system. You will be given registration information during orientation.

What is CALI? CALI, or Computer Assisted Legal Instruction, is home to free online legal exercises designed to help students better understand the law.  Access to law students is free.  If you are interested in using CALI as a supplement to your studies during law school, you can set up an account by visiting CALI.org.  NCCU's authorization code can be found in your Law Library orientation packet or you can stop by the Law Library Reference Desk and get the code from a friendly Reference Librarian.

How To

To learn how to add a course on TWEN, Web Courses, or how to register for CALI, select the appropriate link from this tab's pull down menu or click on the appropriate link below.