Law Library Webpage WindowLaw Library Catalog WindowLaw Library Blog WindowLaw Library Facebook Page Window
This is the "Alternative Dispute Resolution" page of the "Alternative Dispute Resolution" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NCCU Catalog Quick Search

Alternative Dispute Resolution   Tags: adr, alternative dispute resolution, arbitration, mediation, negotiation  

This guide will assist users in conducting ADR research at North Carolina Central University School of Law's library.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2011 URL: http://ncculaw.libguides.nccu.edu/adr Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Alternative Dispute Resolution Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is ADR?

The term "alternative dispute resolution" (or ADR) refers to any method of settling disputes outside of litigation.  It typically includes arbitration, mediation, and negotiation.  This LibGuide will provide the user with basic information and resources about ADR and its various methods of dispute resolution.

If you are interested in studying ADR during your tenure at NCCU School of Law, please visit the Dispute Resolution Institute webpage.

 

Introductory ADR Texts

The following resources provide basic information about ADR so the user can gain an understanding of the concepts and practices.  The Law Library has many more books on the subject.  For more specific information about arbitration, mediation, and negotiation click on the corresponding tabs.

If you would like to search the Law Library Catalog for books on the subject yourself, consider searching with the following subject headings:

  • compromise (law)
  • compromise (law) -- united states
  • compromise (law) -- north carolina
  • dispute resolution (law)
  • dispute resolution (law) -- united states
  • dispute resolution (law) -- north carolina

You may also wish to scan the shelves for titles that interest you.  Books on ADR are located in call number ranges KF 9084 and KFN 7960.3.

Cover Art
Alternative Dispute Resolution: An Essential Competency for Lawyers - Mark V.B. Partridge
Call Number: K2390 .P37 2009
ISBN: 9780195372052
Alternative Dispute Resolution: An Essential Competency for Lawyers helps litigators and corporate counsel gain a critical understanding of the increasingly important world of alternative dispute resolution. Readers will learn not only how to resolve disputes more efficiently, but to achieve better results at a lower cost. The book includes an assessment of the benefits of ADR, the specific tactics and tools available within an ADR context, cases studies where ADR has been used to achieve improved results, and practical advice and tips for advocacy in ADR settings, with special emphasis on mediation skills. Relevant statutes and case law are included within a larger narrative that highlights the most effective strategies of Alternative Dispute Resolution.

Cover Art
Alternative Dispute Resolution in North Carolina: A New Civil Procedure - NC Dispute Resolution Commission
Call Number: KFN7960.3 .A948 2003
This book discusses the history of ADR in North Carolina and the nuts and bolts of ADR practice within the state.

Cover Art
Alternative Dispute Resolution in a Nutshell - Jacqueline M. Nolan-Haley
Call Number: KF9084 .Z9 N65 2008
ISBN: 0314180141
This comprehensive guide provides an overview of alternative dispute resolutions and settlements. This Nutshell presents alternatives to dispute resolutions that go beyond the "one size fits all" litigation mentality. On-point discussion facilitates an understanding of the wide variety of options available that can better suit a client's needs, such as negotiation, mediation, and arbitration.

Cover Art
Alternatives to Litigation: Mediation, Arbitration, and the Art of Dispute Resolution - Abraham P. Ordover
Call Number: KF9084 .O73 2002
ISBN: 1556817495
This book explores key concepts and terms, and addresses practical how-to issues that all attorneys need to recognize and master regardless of their field of expertise.

Cover Art
How ADR Works - BNA Books
Call Number: KF3425 .H69 2002
ISBN: 1570182531
This book presents the views of experts on mediation and arbitration to legal professionals on all sides, and at every level of experience. Advocates advise on preparing and presenting a case, while the editor distills their advice in summary chapters that provide both an overview and insights into what makes ADR work.

Cover Art
The Law of Alternative Dispute Resolution - Margaret C. Jasper
Call Number: KF9084.Z9 J37 2000
ISBN: 0379113430
The Law of Dispute Resolution focuses on the process of litigation and explores the alternative approaches to dispute resolution and the circumstances under which they are applied. It also discusses the roles of individuals who are involved with these procedures and the guidelines which they are required to follow.

Cover Art
Principles of Alternative Dispute Resolution - Stephen J. Ware
Call Number: KF9084 .W35 2007
ISBN: 0314149074
Part of the Concise Hornbook series, this book provides the reader with a basic overview of alternative dispute resolution.

 
 

ADR Journals & Law Reviews

The following journals and law reviews cover the broad topic of ADR. NCCU Law Library users can access these materials through print or electronic databases like HeinOnline, LexisNexis, or Westlaw. (If you wish to access these materials through HeinOnline, LexisNexis, or Westlaw you will be required to enter a username and password.)

  • Dispute Resolution Journal of the American Arbitration Association (Westlaw)
  • Dispute Resolution magazine
  • Journal of Dispute Resolution (LexisNexis, HeinOnline)
  • Pepperdine Dispute Resolution Law Journal (HeinOnline, LexisNexis, Westlaw)
  • Willamette Journal of International Law and Dispute Resolution (HeinOnline, LexisNexis)
 

Helpful ADR Databases & Tools

LexisNexis (username and password required): To access ADR materials on LexisNexis, go to Area of Law by Topic.  Select "View More" and then select "Alternative Dispute Resolution".  Doing so will grant you access to cases, statutes, ADR rules and procedures, arbitration awards, and more.

Westlaw Classic (username and password required): Westlaw Classic offers users several access points to ADR specific materials.

  • Directory - Topical Practice Areas - Alternative Dispute Resolution: This area of Westlaw Classic will provide users with easy access to federal cases and laws, treatises, forms, and model clauses among other things.
  • ADR-SPECIALIST database: This specific database contains "treatises, practice guides, journals, law reviews and arbitration materials covering all aspects of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) law."

Westlaw Next (username and password required): To access ADR materials in Westlaw Next, select Secondary Sources from the All Content tab.  Then select Texts & Treatises.  Look under the By Topic section and select Alternative Dispute Resolution.

Contact Information

Profile Image
Patricia Dickerson
Contact Info
NCCU School of Law
640 Nelson St.
Durham, NC 27707

Office: 919-530-5255
Fax: 919-530-7926
Send Email

Contact the Reference Desk

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip